XIM Community

Cant restore Backup on XIM Apex  (Read 256 times)

Offline art42424242

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Cant restore Backup on XIM Apex
« on: 12:00 PM - 01/24/22 »
Hello,
this is the situation:

I have 2 XIM Apex (whatever for)
Both updated with latest firmware XIMAPEXFlash-20211012-PC.exe

I backup the first XIM with that flash-tool without problems (has 5 configs stored).
I try to restore it with the same tool on the other XIM and get an error:

"Invalid config values were found in the backup. The backup file looks invalid/corrupt."

Thx for help + greets,
art42

 

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58839
    • View Profile
Re: Cant restore Backup on XIM Apex
« Reply #1 on: 05:34 PM - 01/24/22 »
Welcome to the community. You may have better luck copying the config to code from the config's Identity section instead of a whole backup. It's not uncommon to see reports of problems using the flash tool's restore feature.
Have a problem with your XIM? Find a solution
NEXUS Support FAQ | APEX Support FAQ | XIM4 Support FAQ | Instructional Videos

Offline art42424242

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Cant restore Backup on XIM Apex
« Reply #2 on: 06:13 PM - 01/24/22 »
ty first :)

Which tool must I use to copy that config code to a file?
I have only the flash tool and the xim-app for android and cant find the copy-thingy you mentioned...

ty

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58839
    • View Profile
Re: Cant restore Backup on XIM Apex
« Reply #3 on: 10:19 AM - 01/25/22 »
Using XIM Manager, with expert mode enabled, go to the Identity section of the the config and click copy. Store the config code into a document if you'd like to have a backup, I use Keep. In your new config click the paste button to restore the config settings.
Have a problem with your XIM? Find a solution
NEXUS Support FAQ | APEX Support FAQ | XIM4 Support FAQ | Instructional Videos

Offline art42424242

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 15
    • View Profile
Re: Cant restore Backup on XIM Apex
« Reply #4 on: 06:07 PM - 01/26/22 »
hey, wow, nice, i have never seen that copy/paste option before.
thank you!!!

however it does not fix my problem, since my config is not longer selectable from the list of configs:
rainbow six (updated)
sorted out by admin i guess...

oh, perhaps that was also the reason, the restore-function for the backup failed?

do you also have an idea, how i can install that old and still existing config on my new xim, without beeing able to select it from the configs list?

i know, i simply could take the new one for rainbow six, but i was not able to get rid of mouse-acceleration there.
i wait for your answer and then make another thread for that mouse-acceleration problem if not solvable here...

thanks a lot!

Online antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 13951
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: Cant restore Backup on XIM Apex
« Reply #5 on: 06:35 PM - 01/26/22 »
That's correct - the Siege (updated) ST no longer exists in the Game Database, which will cause corruption when attempting to restore a backup.

Official Australian distributor for
XIM NEXUS, XIM APEX, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM APEX demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts