XIM Community

Is Ricochet identifying xim apex users on the computer?  (Read 703 times)

Offline biship

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1
    • View Profile
After migrating from the console to the computer, I continued using xim apex as usual with sensitivity and precision, but with the new Ricochet update I'm in doubt if I'm still using it, I would like to know if there have been any reports of bans for the use of xim apex . Thanks!

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 12423
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: Is Ricochet identifying xim apex users on the computer?
« Reply #1 on: 08:58 PM - 11/17/21 »
Welcome to the community.

All that can be identified by Windows and PC apps is the controller connected to XIM APEX.

XIM APEX is not considered by Sony or Microsoft to be a cheat tool on supported PS and Xbox consoles. Though PC is not a supported XIM gaming platform, no-one has been banned for using a XIM.

You use XIM at your own risk as the goalposts keep shifting for PC anticheat software, but if a XIM is going to be flagged, a significant proportion of legitimate controller users will also receive a false positive.

Official Australian distributor for XIM APEX, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM APEX demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts

Offline full58

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 451
  • The opposite of empty
    • View Profile
Re: Is Ricochet identifying xim apex users on the computer?
« Reply #2 on: 03:56 AM - 11/18/21 »
your only gonna find examples of salty players saying it will get you banned or that it's cheating.

Offline Fat White Lump

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 12
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: A FatWhiteLump
  • PSN ID: FatWhiteLump
Re: Is Ricochet identifying xim apex users on the computer?
« Reply #3 on: 01:06 PM - 11/18/21 »
I tried my XIM on Vanguard for a couple of hours and I can still play. Everything seems fine so far, I'll probably not use it when the kernel level driver launches just to see what happens.

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 12423
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: Is Ricochet identifying xim apex users on the computer?
« Reply #4 on: 06:16 PM - 11/18/21 »
The kernel driver won't see the XIM. It presents itself only as the controller connected to it.

What that driver is looking for is software accessing code or memory. XIM isn't using any software on the PC, it's all on-board the device.

Official Australian distributor for XIM APEX, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM APEX demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts

Offline Peterle

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 52
    • View Profile
Re: Is Ricochet identifying xim apex users on the computer?
« Reply #5 on: 06:51 AM - 11/19/21 »
I tried my XIM on Vanguard for a couple of hours and I can still play. Everything seems fine so far, I'll probably not use it when the kernel level driver launches just to see what happens.

I tried MK, but Xim shredds hard. My KD was 1.01 with MK and now 2.4 with XIM - on PC.

Offline GamingNerd

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1660
    • View Profile
Re: Is Ricochet identifying xim apex users on the computer?
« Reply #6 on: 07:06 AM - 11/23/21 »
I've heard all kinds of rumors about people getting banned for using it on apex from salty players that don't like the xim or wish that they could buy one now, but can't. I still use mine without any issues and have tons of fun doing it. What I tend not to do though is advertise that I'm using the xim or recommend it to anyone I get to know and play with. I just tell that that I'm using a controller when asked why I'm doing do well and leave it at that.
The Xim is not a magical tool that is going to make you a god. Time, effort and perseverance is what will take your gaming to the next level.

[Ps4] [Sony Nav] [T9 Gamepad] [Logitech G502 Proteus] [Dpi's: 12,000, 3200, 4000, 2400] [Syncs: Off and Common]

Offline moobot

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 76
    • View Profile
Re: Is Ricochet identifying xim apex users on the computer?
« Reply #7 on: 02:40 PM - 11/23/21 »
xim won't be detectable without a TON of issues being created for normal controller users, so don't think they'd go there.

but not sure why you'd honestly want to use xim on pc to play vanguard, imo its unplayable with the scale of aim assist and other factors, you can't aim where you want to... am currently taking a break from cod until i figure out a miracle to get rid of the aim resist.


Admin