XIM Community

Questions on how to tweak the config file - G5 mouse and COD4  (Read 3500 times)

Offline Tech

• View Profile
Hi all,

My first post to the boards (and in fact in a long long time to anywhere) so please dont flame me! I'm a born again newbie!

I ordered and constructed my XIM as per the instructions posted online - soldering it was tough but I persevered. It worked perfectly the first time, which was astounding to me as usually nothing works first time the way its supposed to in IT. Least in my universe :p - ok enough intro - now to the meat of the matter.

I'm at the stage where I want to fine tune the config file so that the mouse feels as close to something that I'm comfortable with as possible. I've read all the configs posted here that I can find and mirrored all of them as tests and I just feel that I can tweak settings further to the point where its as close to perfection as possible. To do this I need all your expert advice...

In regard to dead zone - how can I minimize this? I have a Logitech G5 mouse and it still feels like the dead zone - the middle bit of movement on the screen around the cross hairs is very sluggish. To fine aim at someone still takes longer than it should especially in a game like COD4 where participants are sprinting around and making unexpected turns etc. If I could figure out how to speed up the finer movements, that would help my gaming heaps.

Also - what do each of the settings on the config do? For eg using Thorimmortal's config -

User: Thorimmortal
Game: Call Of Duty 4
Mouse DPI:Logitech G5 default 800 dpi
Mouse Dead Zone:           = 0
Mouse Update Frequency:    = 2.5
Dead Zone:                 = 17
Dead Zone Type:            = Circular
Y/X Ratio:                 = 1.9
Translation Exponent:      = 0.25
Sensitivity Primary:       = 18.0
Sensitivity Secondary:     = 26.0
Smoothness:                = 0.3