XIM Community

Battlefield 3  (Read 234571 times)

Offline RoAV

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 122
  • who drank the purple stuff?
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: XxRoAVxX
  • PSN ID: XxWick3dClownxX
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #510 on: 02:18 PM - 09/06/11 »
I hope it is 1 disc for Sp and 1 for Mp so the gfx will look good from more data lol
"an eye for an eye makes everyone a cyclops"

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 51996
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #511 on: 07:23 PM - 09/06/11 »
BF3 will run at 1280x704 on console for those who are interested

https://twitter.com/#!/repi/status/111184500096110592
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline dmxwyrw

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1278
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #512 on: 07:29 PM - 09/06/11 »
Still 1280 so thats 720p so no complaints.  :)

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 51996
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #513 on: 07:31 PM - 09/06/11 »
Well not exactly, 704p. But close enough to 720, I mean whats a few lines?
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline Flamemonkey

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2197
  • Nomnomnom?
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: H3X AntiStyle
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #514 on: 07:42 PM - 09/06/11 »
That's not a bad res, definitely less garbage than CoD's... XD

Quote
The M on the cover is supposed to let you know you need to be mature.

Offline dmxwyrw

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1278
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #515 on: 07:43 PM - 09/06/11 »
Well technically. But 1280 is 720p and 1920 is 1080p regardless of actual scanlines. take an anamorphic movie for example. 1280x544 is still 720p. not trying to debate though.
Shoot they say it will help mem and processing im all for it.

Offline Flamemonkey

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2197
  • Nomnomnom?
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: H3X AntiStyle
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #516 on: 07:46 PM - 09/06/11 »
Last I checked 720/1080p was directly referring to the vertical pixel count, i.e.; 1366 x 768 isn't 720p.

Quote
The M on the cover is supposed to let you know you need to be mature.

Offline HolyFenix

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 877
  • OriginID: HolyFenix
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: HolyFenix
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #517 on: 07:47 PM - 09/06/11 »
Thats good to hear though. I'm dropping my airsoft hobby to get back into gaming seriously. BF3 will be the game that brings me back
"Just remember, the most important objective in Titanfall is destroying the drop ship" ~Me
Dude did something bad, got warned by a mod, then had a porn fueled meltdown.

Offline dmxwyrw

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1278
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #518 on: 07:55 PM - 09/06/11 »
1366 x 768 is not no. Its height or width. anything with 1280 width is assumed 720p
976 x 720 is 720p but with pillars on the side

1280x*** is 720p as long as *** is below 720
***x720 is 720p

go check your bluray and xbox games. there is no 702p. its not literal anymore.
done with this

Offline PhilAshio

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1922
  • Troll in the Mist, 4fun
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #519 on: 08:04 PM - 09/06/11 »
My biggest concern is being able to install it all on one device. I may be wrong but last time I tried to install a multi disk game on a flash it would only install the first disk. Rage is a three disk game and unlikely to fit on a flash even if you can install multiple disks.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 51996
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #520 on: 08:26 PM - 09/06/11 »
I don't really know the specific rules either dmx, I assumed it had to do with the vertical lines of resolution as well.

Anyway it's good news regardless! Aren't a good amount of other xbox games upscaled from much lower resolutions?
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline dmxwyrw

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1278
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #521 on: 08:30 PM - 09/06/11 »
Freaking great news. Yeah quite a few games upscaled.

Offline Od1n

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 29550
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #522 on: 07:41 AM - 09/07/11 »
1366 x 768 is not no. Its height or width. anything with 1280 width is assumed 720p
976 x 720 is 720p but with pillars on the side

1280x*** is 720p as long as *** is below 720
***x720 is 720p

go check your bluray and xbox games. there is no 702p. its not literal anymore.
done with this

nice to know this, thanks for the examples :)
PS4 & X1 | C: MS | XIM4 | FW: the latest ofc! :) | Mon: BenQ XL2420Z | Pad: Zowie G-SR | KB: Ducky DK1008L Cherry Red O-Rings| A: AKG K701 Creative X7 Antlion Modmic | M: Zowie EC1-A | D: 3200 | P: 1000hz | BF4 4 HIP: 35 ADS: 20

My Fortnite Creator Code: beamimpact
Check out my Youtube Channel: XIMGameplay

Offline Flamemonkey

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2197
  • Nomnomnom?
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: H3X AntiStyle
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #523 on: 09:06 AM - 09/07/11 »
I wonder if that's talking about the rendering resolution, or the final upscaled resolution? I'd imagine rendering but who knows what nasty tricks they'd have up their sleeve.

Quote
The M on the cover is supposed to let you know you need to be mature.

Offline dmxwyrw

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1278
    • View Profile
Re: Battlefield 3
« Reply #524 on: 09:23 AM - 09/07/11 »
yeah thats a good point. though if they are upscaling it you would think they would fill to full 1280x720
but who knows. Another trick in games is the GUI can be rendered higher at 1920x1080 or whatever and the game world can be a lower resolution. So actually in this case the GUI could be rendered 1280x702 and the game world 1176x664. and the end result on the box would be 720p

Arma series has this on pc as a configurable option to help make the game better at low resolutions.