XIM Community

[ACTIVE] Xim not working.  (Read 136 times)

Offline NeedAnyCro

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: NeedAnyCro
[ACTIVE] Xim not working.
« on: 06:31 PM - 11/07/19 »
Hi there, I've been using my Xim Apex on and off for a year now. It's always been very temperamental to use since the purchase and need to get to the bottom of this. I'm using a razer keyboard and razer mouse, both of the lights are switched off completely and i'm using an elite xbox one controller with two different data cables. My issue is that sometimes the xim will work for days on end and then it won't work for a week or two... the problem over the last few days is that when I finally get all peripherals working the controller cuts out after 30-60 seconds and I have to restart xbox and unplug xim numerous times to even get it to detect anything again. I've bought new cables, i've troubleshooted as much as possible and i'm still stuck. Can anyone please help? :(
« Last Edit: 10:12 AM - 11/08/19 by mist4fun »

Offline NeedAnyCro

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: NeedAnyCro
Re: Xim not working.
« Reply #1 on: 06:37 PM - 11/07/19 »
there is even a loud buzz with the audio when the xim cuts off

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 52276
    • View Profile
Re: Xim not working.
« Reply #2 on: 10:12 AM - 11/08/19 »
Does APEX's light change when this happens and if so what do you see? This can tell us more about what's causing the issue.

Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline NeedAnyCro

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: NeedAnyCro
Re: [ACTIVE] Xim not working.
« Reply #3 on: 11:16 AM - 11/08/19 »
The light remains red which is the correct profile LED. The controller just cuts dead and won't connect back.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 52276
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] Xim not working.
« Reply #4 on: 05:35 PM - 11/08/19 »
Well this has many causes, it's usually the cable or the controller, even when others have been tested. Are you using a powered hub or a power adapter with your setup? LED peripherals can require more power and this can cause instability. I recommend charging the controller if you haven't yet.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline NeedAnyCro

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: NeedAnyCro
Re: [ACTIVE] Xim not working.
« Reply #5 on: 06:18 PM - 11/08/19 »
Well i'm not using any LED's on my keyboard or mouse... and i'm using the hub that comes with the XIM. Also controller is full charge. I've tested each port individually ect and tested by plugging hub into the pc.

Offline NeedAnyCro

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: NeedAnyCro
Re: [ACTIVE] Xim not working.
« Reply #6 on: 07:37 PM - 11/09/19 »
Bump.

Offline NeedAnyCro

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 9
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: NeedAnyCro
Re: [ACTIVE] Xim not working.
« Reply #7 on: 01:37 PM - 11/10/19 »
any help?

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 36320
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: [ACTIVE] Xim not working.
« Reply #8 on: 05:04 PM - 11/10/19 »
I agree with mist4fun, it does sound like a data communication issue between your controller and XIM. Can you try plugging your controller in a different port on your hub?
Get the most out of your XIM APEX, read the XIM APEX Support FAQ.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 52276
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] Xim not working.
« Reply #9 on: 10:30 AM - 11/11/19 »
Well i'm not using any LED's on my keyboard or mouse...

LED peripherals can draw the same amount of power with and without lights. This is what using a multimeter has shown me. It could be power, stability issues like this are reported without power fault lights that have been solved with additional power. You may not need to make a purchase to test against power though.

If testing the controller in other hub ports doesn't help then I would recommend testing with low power peripherals that don't include LEDs (if available).

Does this ever happen when left idle?
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos