XIM Community

blue screen  (Read 2921 times)

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58088
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #15 on: 05:46 PM - 01/17/11 »
Well xim2 can't cause a blue screen, that's just a memory leak in windows. You have a few options, try another computer, check for a bad solder joint, or contact shipping guy. If your usb points look smashed together like this image that could be causing your problem.

Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline ryan123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1262
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #16 on: 06:00 PM - 01/17/11 »
those screws are so tiny, my smallest s-driver is rounding them off ;/
will have to leave til tomorrow


i recommend virgin media!

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58088
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #17 on: 06:13 PM - 01/17/11 »
Sometimes ms just uses phillips screws but if not you can find a T8H tool. Another option would be to use a flat head: http://www.instructables.com/id/how-to-open-up-a-Xbox-360-controller-with-only-a-f/

This suggestion is just a way to save time and shipping, if it comes down to it you can always take advantage of your warranty. I do recommended exploring all other options first though because you live overseas.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline ryan123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1262
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #18 on: 01:13 AM - 01/18/11 »
yeah it seems like that's my issue
is there a page that shows me how to properly adjust? i can solder but not great


i recommend virgin media!

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58088
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #19 on: 03:17 AM - 01/18/11 »
So you've opened it and the solder joints are touching? If so you will want to do two things.

Only do these things if your solder joints are crushed together like you saw in the picture above. The first thing you need to do is seperate those solder joints with a soldering iron. You may want to have solder just incase, but this could be accomplished by only heating up the existing solder and sperating the points. Visit youtube for solder tutorials if you want to learn more. The second thing you should do is dremel or cut away at whatever point of contact xim2 has with your controllers shell. See below.

You should be under warranty so proceed at your own risk.

 
« Last Edit: 03:31 AM - 01/18/11 by mist4fun »
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline ryan123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1262
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #20 on: 12:16 PM - 01/18/11 »
working pretty well, i simply cut through the middle

but now my B button isn't working in-game, it shows up on the xim software but nothing happens in-game
i have changed the keys a few times and nothing happened different?
pressing the B button on the actual controller works fine too

i have checked that it's all in-line inside the controller

tried to install quake, apparently i only have an 88mhz CPU
ROFLWHAT?
is my computer @#$%?
« Last Edit: 02:53 PM - 01/18/11 by ryanolol »


i recommend virgin media!

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58088
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #21 on: 03:16 PM - 01/18/11 »
Yeah dude your computer seems wonky right now. Go in your bios and check things out in there, have you ever changed your clock speeds in the bios?

I didn't recommend cutting the gap because I didn't want you to damage your pcb board. It's good that you didn't though. With your computer behaving this way I really recommend you borrow someones laptop for fifteen minutes. If you can only find a windows vista or 7 laptop be sure to use the vista/7 install instructions on the first install.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline ryan123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1262
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #22 on: 03:28 PM - 01/18/11 »
haven't changed the clock speeds, everything seems pretty normal
nah my dad cut through the solder, it's working all good now except the B thing..
the pcb is alright

can't get hold of a laptop at all, my parents are running weird OS notebook things, and i can't use my sisters' laptop because she.. well, said no :\


i recommend virgin media!

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58088
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #23 on: 04:15 PM - 01/18/11 »
Your B button contact point is highlighted in the pic below. Check for a solid connection, if it's loose or flimsy on that side you may not have a connection. Also be sure to recalibrate.

If your motherboards battery has failed that could revert your cpu clock speeds to something else than what it was. Other than your bios being reset I don't know why your CPU would be running slower.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline ryan123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1262
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #24 on: 04:58 PM - 01/18/11 »
it's looking fine, there's a tiny 'crack' on the one side but there's definitely a good enough connection  (there's cracks on almost all of them)
have calibrated many times

current:

[Calibration]
OffsetRX=2494
OffsetRY=1813
OffsetLX=3331
OffsetLY=1884
OffsetRT=0
OffsetLT=0
RatioRX=1.6560229063
RatioRY=1.60646212101
RatioLX=1.62985396385
RatioLY=1.52680981159
RatioRT=1.
RatioLT=1.02050566673

start button doesn't work whilst connected (i think that's disabled anyway, isn't it?)
B button works fine, shows up on software too
so, it must be the connection?

i don't have a camera with good enough macro to show the detail


i recommend virgin media!

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58088
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #25 on: 06:02 PM - 01/18/11 »
The solder is cracked? It shouldn't be cracked. The start button should work too. The only functions that won't work are the analog sticks and triggers until the software is running.

Aside from re soldering the connections because they are cracked, or soldering the chip into a different 005/006 compatible controller I can't think of anything else. Contact shipping guy?
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline Xenon

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1883
  • Boo!
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Xenonshot
Re: blue screen
« Reply #26 on: 11:28 PM - 01/18/11 »
...i can't use my sisters' laptop because she.. well, said no :\

you shuda asked matt's sister. She says yes to everything...I know this to be fact. (sorry for off topic post)
I rRrRR 133337Zorz

Offline roads

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 19559
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #27 on: 04:09 AM - 01/19/11 »
On the picture from Mist at the top of the page you can even see the circle from the plastic ring.
Crusade atm: none

Offline ryan123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1262
    • View Profile
Re: blue screen
« Reply #28 on: 11:32 AM - 01/19/11 »
oh, and my mic doesn't work with my xim either.. nor does it with a controller
i think my xim made my xbox implode - or my mic

i won't be sending the xim2 back due to p&p charges, hassle, and time (unless i get a discount off the xim3 if i do that ;p)
i'll probably just wait for the xim3, even though i am saving for car insurance
should be out the end of this month anyways, hopefully

[/removed sarcasm and situational rage]
« Last Edit: 12:08 PM - 01/19/11 by ryanolol »


i recommend virgin media!


Admin