XIM Community

When changing your polling!!!!!!  (Read 820 times)

Offline PingThing

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 115
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Pingthing
  • PSN ID: pingthing
When changing your polling!!!!!!
« on: 01:37 PM - 03/06/18 »
Okay you got your new Apex, the first thing that everyone's gunna do is activate the advanced settings and whack it up to 1000 polling....
However, what nobody tells you, or maybe I wasn't listening, is that for the changes to take affect you have to reboot your Apex and make sure you get the 1000 logo in your manager.......don't waste 2 hours like me thinking,,,,,,,hmmmm it's just like the Xim4, while switching back and forth without a reboot.
It don't mean a Thing if you ain't got that Ping.

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 33665
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: When changing your polling!!!!!!
« Reply #1 on: 01:40 PM - 03/06/18 »
I guess the popup message saying to restart your XIM APEX was missed. :)
Get the most out of your XIM APEX, read the XIM APEX Support FAQ.

Offline PingThing

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 115
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Pingthing
  • PSN ID: pingthing
Re: When changing your polling!!!!!!
« Reply #2 on: 02:12 PM - 03/06/18 »
Pop up messages, I'm far too hip to read pop up messages..lol
In all seriousness though, yes there was a message, and I'll admit that in my excitement I read it as 'blah blah blah, smoothing, blah, blah'.
Don't be like Ping, he doesn't RTFM.
It don't mean a Thing if you ain't got that Ping.

Offline Maxxgold

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 662
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Maxxgold
  • PSN ID: Maxxgold
Re: When changing your polling!!!!!!
« Reply #3 on: 02:13 PM - 03/06/18 »
I guess the popup message saying to restart your XIM APEX was missed. :)

Popup message is totally pro, I like how intuitive the new software is : )
[Instructional Videos]
http://xim.tech/instructional-videos/

[HOW TO FIND YOUR PERFECT XIM SENSITIVITY]
http://community.xim.tech/index.php?topic=60845.0

[Xim Apex Manager & Firmware]
http://community.xim.tech/index.php?topic=60725.0

[Console Controller Crossover]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_X_ntzv_zc

(My Current Setup)
-Xim Apex
-G502 set @ 1000Hz Polling and 12,000DPI
-Sony Navigation Controller
-Razer Black Widow Stealth V1 Keyboard (used sparingly)

Offline Maxxgold

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 662
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Maxxgold
  • PSN ID: Maxxgold
Re: When changing your polling!!!!!!
« Reply #4 on: 02:24 PM - 03/06/18 »


The 1000Hz in the top left lets you know that you are good to go!
[Instructional Videos]
http://xim.tech/instructional-videos/

[HOW TO FIND YOUR PERFECT XIM SENSITIVITY]
http://community.xim.tech/index.php?topic=60845.0

[Xim Apex Manager & Firmware]
http://community.xim.tech/index.php?topic=60725.0

[Console Controller Crossover]
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=c_X_ntzv_zc

(My Current Setup)
-Xim Apex
-G502 set @ 1000Hz Polling and 12,000DPI
-Sony Navigation Controller
-Razer Black Widow Stealth V1 Keyboard (used sparingly)

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 6473
    • View Profile
Re: When changing your polling!!!!!!
« Reply #5 on: 03:55 PM - 03/06/18 »
It's been posted in many threads that you need to unplug and replug the Apex to enable 1000Hz polling. Also, the Xim Manager popup is pretty hard to miss  ;)

I believe OBsIV is also going to update the Response Rate Instructional Video to make mention of this. Those videos should be the starting point for all new Apex users.

Offline Poke

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
Re: When changing your polling!!!!!!
« Reply #6 on: 04:00 PM - 03/06/18 »
My G500 mouse dpi only goes up to 5700 in the settings.  Does than mean I shouldn't raise the apex to 1000hz?

Offline wicked96ta

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 850
    • View Profile
Re: When changing your polling!!!!!!
« Reply #7 on: 04:01 PM - 03/06/18 »
My G500 mouse dpi only goes up to 5700 in the settings.  Does than mean I shouldn't raise the apex to 1000hz?

You can do it. Just make sure your XIM sensitivities don't go passed 500.
Xbox One X
XIM Apex
Logitech G502 12k DPI @ 1000Hz
Koolertron Gateron Black Switches
Zowie P-SR
Acer GN246HL
Astro Mixamp (first gen)
Sennheiser PC37X

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 6473
    • View Profile
Re: When changing your polling!!!!!!
« Reply #8 on: 04:04 PM - 03/06/18 »
5700 DPI is fine at 1000Hz. You just need to be wary of dipping below 3000 DPI due to the hard cap of 500 for Xim sensitivity values at 1000Hz. That 500 values equates to 62.5 on Xim4, or when running Apex at 125Hz (the default setting).

Note that all Xim Manager sens values need to be multiplied by 8 at 1000Hz compared to 125Hz.