XIM Community

Which usb switch for apex?  (Read 779 times)

Offline Easymodeonex

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Which usb switch for apex?
« on: 04:00 PM - 03/01/18 »
I have seen this one https://www.amazon.co.uk/UGREEN-Sharing-Keyboard-Scanner-Printer/dp/B01N6GD9JO/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1519932585&sr=8-3&keywords=usb+switcher

Need help as apex is arriving Monday or it's a 2 kb/m set up on my desk

Also with the inputs being put into the 1 output doesn't that mess with the com apex hub or can the hub read both inputs via the one cable?

Many thanks

Please post what you guys use to help guide my decision

Offline Easymodeonex

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 41
    • View Profile
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #1 on: 06:32 PM - 03/01/18 »
Heading to bed so quick bump will check back in the morning

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7586
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #2 on: 07:15 PM - 03/01/18 »
IOGear GUS404 or GUS402 are rock-solid. They're rebranded as Aten US424 and US224 in other regions.

Official Australian distributor for XIM Apex, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM Apex demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts

Offline SfcoAwol

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: Sfco_Awol
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #3 on: 07:48 PM - 03/01/18 »
Quote
IOGear GUS404 or GUS402 are rock-solid. They're rebranded as Aten US424 and US224 in other regions.
Thanks allot for that last bit of info! I was looking for a gus404, turned out I was able to snag a used US424 for $20 free shipping! only question is would this switcher be considered a powered hub considering it has the 5v in usb?

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7586
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #4 on: 07:50 PM - 03/01/18 »
Yeah it is optionally powered. The switch has a 5V USB port, but you don't need to use it.

I connect my 2 x GUS404 via micro USB to USB cables to old iPhone chargers to power my Xim setup.

IMHO, it's a better solution than a powered USB hub, with more versatility.

Official Australian distributor for XIM Apex, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM Apex demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts

Offline SfcoAwol

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: Sfco_Awol
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #5 on: 07:56 PM - 03/01/18 »
Awesome! that will be a big help since I'm going to be running through 15ft usb, now to actually get the apex and a hdmi switcher so I can play on my desktop! Thanks again!

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7586
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #6 on: 07:59 PM - 03/01/18 »
15ft is pushing it, you're likely to experience some degradation.

I had an active 15ft cable on my old setup and for the most part it worked fine. But if my controller was undercharged, it'd crash the Xim.

I'm using a 10ft passive USB cable now with no problems.

Official Australian distributor for XIM Apex, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM Apex demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts

Offline Clu

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 278
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Clu Rebooted
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #7 on: 08:30 PM - 03/01/18 »
Why is it set up 15ft away? I use the GCS22U by KVM and cut off the VGA adapter with scissors and only use the USB part

Offline SfcoAwol

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: Sfco_Awol
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #8 on: 08:34 PM - 03/01/18 »
Quote
15ft is pushing it, you're likely to experience some degradation.

I had an active 15ft cable on my old setup and for the most part it worked fine. But if my controller was undercharged, it'd crash the Xim.

I'm using a 10ft passive USB cable now with no problems.

so I've been investigating it a little more and I'm thinking something like this might be more what I need they claim with these active repeaters they can run past 50ft, my only question is would this add latency?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/16ft-5M-USB-2-0-A-Male-to-Female-Active-Extension-Repeater-Cable-Kinect-PS4-US/382159933701?epid=1739304822&hash=item58fa81d105:g:sm4AAOSwWdZZY~7T#

Offline SfcoAwol

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 34
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: Sfco_Awol
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #9 on: 08:37 PM - 03/01/18 »
Quote
Why is it set up 15ft away? I use the GCS22U by KVM and cut off the VGA adapter with scissors and only use the USB part

well it's setup 15ft away because my pc is located across the room from my ps4 because the ps4 is hooked up to my tv as its our only way of watching movies and streaming on the tv   

Offline FortyOne

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Forty0ne
  • PSN ID: Forty_One
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #10 on: 08:37 PM - 03/01/18 »
Quote
15ft is pushing it, you're likely to experience some degradation.

I had an active 15ft cable on my old setup and for the most part it worked fine. But if my controller was undercharged, it'd crash the Xim.

I'm using a 10ft passive USB cable now with no problems.

so I've been investigating it a little more and I'm thinking something like this might be more what I need they claim with these active repeaters they can run past 50ft, my only question is would this add latency?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/16ft-5M-USB-2-0-A-Male-to-Female-Active-Extension-Repeater-Cable-Kinect-PS4-US/382159933701?epid=1739304822&hash=item58fa81d105:g:sm4AAOSwWdZZY~7T#

Latency no.  Latency is never really the issue.  Power requierments is.  a powered hub will most likely be required.  I used to use a 39 active repetaer cable and it worked fine with a powered hub.

Come Join us on Discord.  Its a great way to
chat and meet up with your fellow ximmers.
Just click on the Image to your left to Join.
<------------------------------------------
Link : SandhawC Profile Loader

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7586
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: Which usb switch for apex?
« Reply #11 on: 08:37 PM - 03/01/18 »
That's pretty much what I had.

Shorter cables are better, but that's more a power supply than lag issue.

Official Australian distributor for XIM Apex, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM Apex demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts