XIM Community

On-board memory  (Read 1090 times)

Offline MouseAndKeyboarder

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Names Blaine
On-board memory
« on: 06:11 PM - 02/20/18 »
Do you have to have a mnkb with on-board memory for them to work?
 ???

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 13846
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #1 on: 06:57 PM - 02/20/18 »
If a mouse requires a dedicated driver to function, it probably won’t work on a Xim. The only instance I can recall that this may have happened is some of the RAT mice. For keyboard, anything with analog keys such as the Wooting require PC drivers.

Most mice (and kbs) won’t have a problem and present as driverless HID devices. If a mouse works on both PC and Mac, it should work on a Xim.

Where it gets a bit murky is when companies tie some functions into their PC/Mac apps, like Razer Synapse and Roccat Swarm. The mice will still work, but some things like macros, key bindings and sensitivity stages may not. Core functions of DPI, Polling Rate and Lighting do store on-board all Razer mice. Custom RGB however may not store on a kb, but it should be otherwise functional.

If you’re at all concerned, stick with Logitech - they make brilliant gaming mice that have no issues with a Xim, except the G502 Spectrum, which needed a Xim firmware update a couple of years ago. Some custom lighting on a Logitech kb may be lost on connection to a Xim, but can be worked around using a USB switch to maintain power after setting up lighting in Logitech Gaming Software.
« Last Edit: 04:35 PM - 02/21/18 by antithesis »

Official Australian distributor for
XIM NEXUS, XIM APEX, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM APEX demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts

Offline MouseAndKeyboarder

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Names Blaine
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #2 on: 07:04 PM - 02/20/18 »
thanks

Offline r553

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #3 on: 12:27 PM - 02/21/18 »
Some custom lighting on a Logitech kb may be lost on connection to a Xim, but can be worked around using a USB switch to maintain power after setting up lighting in Logitech Gaming Software.

Is there an explanation on how to do this in more detail?
I never had the lighting issue with my G19 on the XIM3, but on the XIM4 my keyboard defaults to white instead of red LEDs.
Xbox One X | XIM APEX | Logitech G502 | Logitech G19s | SteelSeries QcK+ | MixAmp Pro TR | Sennheiser Game One

Offline ShortEssay

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 86
    • View Profile
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #4 on: 12:50 PM - 02/21/18 »
Some custom lighting on a Logitech kb may be lost on connection to a Xim, but can be worked around using a USB switch to maintain power after setting up lighting in Logitech Gaming Software.

Is there an explanation on how to do this in more detail?
I never had the lighting issue with my G19 on the XIM3, but on the XIM4 my keyboard defaults to white instead of red LEDs.

What kinda keyboard is it and does it have onboard memory

Offline r553

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #5 on: 12:53 PM - 02/21/18 »
Some custom lighting on a Logitech kb may be lost on connection to a Xim, but can be worked around using a USB switch to maintain power after setting up lighting in Logitech Gaming Software.

Is there an explanation on how to do this in more detail?
I never had the lighting issue with my G19 on the XIM3, but on the XIM4 my keyboard defaults to white instead of red LEDs.

What kinda keyboard is it and does it have onboard memory

G19S
Xbox One X | XIM APEX | Logitech G502 | Logitech G19s | SteelSeries QcK+ | MixAmp Pro TR | Sennheiser Game One

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 13846
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #6 on: 04:44 PM - 02/21/18 »
Is there an explanation on how to do this in more detail?
I never had the lighting issue with my G19 on the XIM3, but on the XIM4 my keyboard defaults to white instead of red LEDs.
I did it on a Logitech G410.

Connect the kb to a USB switch like the IOGear GUS402 or Aten US224 (same thing, different sticker).
Connect the USB switch to Xim and PC.
Set the switch to PC.
Create the custom lighting scheme in LGS.
Set the switch to Xim.
Profit.

The lighting should stick as power as maintained at all times through the USB switch. I can't guarantee that'll work for all Logitech models.

Official Australian distributor for
XIM NEXUS, XIM APEX, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM APEX demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts

Offline r553

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 172
    • View Profile
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #7 on: 04:57 PM - 02/21/18 »
Is there an explanation on how to do this in more detail?
I never had the lighting issue with my G19 on the XIM3, but on the XIM4 my keyboard defaults to white instead of red LEDs.
I did it on a Logitech G410.

Connect the kb to a USB switch like the IOGear GUS402 or Aten US224 (same thing, different sticker).
Connect the USB switch to Xim and PC.
Set the switch to PC.
Create the custom lighting scheme in LGS.
Set the switch to Xim.
Profit.

The lighting should stick as power as maintained at all times through the USB switch. I can't guarantee that'll work for all Logitech models.

This will introduce input lag into the equation, or does this only really happen when input is going through Windows like with SandhawC?
Xbox One X | XIM APEX | Logitech G502 | Logitech G19s | SteelSeries QcK+ | MixAmp Pro TR | Sennheiser Game One

Offline antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 13846
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #8 on: 05:15 PM - 02/21/18 »
This will introduce input lag into the equation, or does this only really happen when input is going through Windows like with SandhawC?
No more lag than a USB cable connecting a controller to a console. I run numerous USB cables in my setup and if there is lag from those cables, it's undetectable.

Any lag in SandhawC is more likely to be induced by the software rather than the hardware.

Official Australian distributor for
XIM NEXUS, XIM APEX, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM APEX demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts

Offline MouseAndKeyboarder

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 103
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Names Blaine
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #9 on: 08:38 PM - 02/21/18 »
well i cant buy all those btc cords and dont have the computer for the razer synapse and all that so idk... 🙁  #brokekid lol

Offline Balor1712

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 388
    • View Profile
Re: On-board memory
« Reply #10 on: 08:41 PM - 02/21/18 »
I have the Razer Basilisk with on board memory. The custom lights won’t work on the xim4 even with saving it on board using synapse 3.0. More of just an fyi.