XIM Community

Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2  (Read 4402 times)

Offline aN4rK1

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 215
    • View Profile
Hey guys,
So from that I understand, you guys are going to use internal guts of a 360 controller to bypass the USB security thats inplace on the 360. This is allowing us to not us XPFS. My question is regarding mic's. If you guys are using the controller motherboard, isnt is possible to just leave the mic jack as it is and thus allowing the use of wired mics with XIM2?

Sorry if it this covered, I rarely have time to post these days.

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 37867
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #1 on: 09:00 AM - 06/15/08 »
aN4rk1,

You'll be able to use wired headsets or the chatpad without any issues.
Get the most out of your XIM APEX, read the XIM APEX Support FAQ.

Offline derektm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
    • Derektm.com
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #2 on: 04:01 PM - 06/15/08 »
Hey guys,
So from that I understand, you guys are going to use internal guts of a 360 controller to bypass the USB security thats inplace on the 360. This is allowing us to not us XPFS. My question is regarding mic's. If you guys are using the controller motherboard, isnt is possible to just leave the mic jack as it is and thus allowing the use of wired mics with XIM2?

Sorry if it this covered, I rarely have time to post these days.

The XIM 2 board is actually embedded into a fully functional 360 controller. You can easily use your wired headset with it.

-Derek

Offline aN4rK1

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 215
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #3 on: 07:40 PM - 06/15/08 »
SWEET! thanks guys

Offline tonelab77

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #4 on: 11:26 AM - 06/18/08 »
I have a question to add to this post. I saw the pictures and I understand that the XIM 2 goes in the controller and the controller then has two usb cords coming from it. One for the 360 and one for the PC. Where do the k/m plug into in the whole equation? The PC? I'm a little confused. Please clarify this for me. Thanks!

Offline Cameron3395

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 158
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #5 on: 11:42 AM - 06/18/08 »
Yes, the kb and mouse will be plugged into your pc.

Offline SKAG187

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 605
  • PHD in Teledildonics (a pioneer in the field)
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #6 on: 11:49 AM - 06/18/08 »
The "first" usb cable goes to the 360 just like it always did. the new "second" USB goes to the pc. your mouse and keyboard will be connected to the pc like always. the software takes all input from the pc and translates that (through the xim2) into 360 controller impulses

I hope I'm not too far off base feel free to correct me
PHD in Teledildonics

Offline tonelab77

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #7 on: 12:05 PM - 06/18/08 »
That's awesome! The only thng is...we will need to have the PC near the 360, and we will need to be near them both or have lots of usb extension cables. Does the use of usb extension cables affect the XIM 2 in a negative way? ie: lag or whatever?

Offline xPOLESTARx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 239
  • www.team-dropouts.com
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #8 on: 12:07 PM - 06/18/08 »
Maybe if you had a 1000foot usb cable you might notice some lag :P


Gamertag: xPOLESTARx

Offline SKAG187

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 605
  • PHD in Teledildonics (a pioneer in the field)
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #9 on: 12:31 PM - 06/18/08 »
no I'm pretty sure the standard USB has a short distance (2 meters i think) of usable range. this range can be extended through use of a USB repeater cable
PHD in Teledildonics

Offline xSir Nubx

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 357
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #10 on: 12:46 PM - 06/18/08 »
Its going to feel weird not having a huge mess of wires and equipment like the XIM1. Great work guys, cant wait to buy it.

BTW: If you guys are pricing it to make a profit if we buy it whole you guys are in for it. I am getting a number of my friends to buy some too.

Offline tonelab77

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #11 on: 10:50 PM - 06/19/08 »
Here's another question for you all. If I wanted to hookup two(2) XIM 2's to one 360 or even two 360's, would I need two pc's? Or will one PC support both XIM 2's?

Offline derektm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 496
    • View Profile
    • Derektm.com
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #12 on: 02:09 AM - 06/20/08 »
Here's another question for you all. If I wanted to hookup two(2) XIM 2's to one 360 or even two 360's, would I need two pc's? Or will one PC support both XIM 2's?

You will need a dedicated PC per XIM 2 that is being used.

-Derek

Offline tonelab77

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 170
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #13 on: 03:43 AM - 06/20/08 »
Thanks derek. I got that controller you recommended and said that obsiv uses. I love it. Thanks man!

Offline SKAG187

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 605
  • PHD in Teledildonics (a pioneer in the field)
    • View Profile
Re: Question about the use of the 360 Controller for XIM2
« Reply #14 on: 07:15 AM - 06/20/08 »
THE SAITEK CCU? I have one of those it rocks!! I am still waiting for xim2 so for now I have been getting used to it on PC. its upped my game already in UT3. started playing with the programming last night. only problem is the mini stick seems loose so i just push it all the way forward till it wedges in and doesn't wiggle too much. I may just try returning it and getting another.
« Last Edit: 07:21 AM - 06/20/08 by SKAG187 »
PHD in Teledildonics


Admin