XIM Community

Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings  (Read 9880 times)

Online mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 54237
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #30 on: 09:32 AM - 03/27/17 »
Quote
Are other PS4 users using the controller experiencing stutter, bad fps, and bad diagonal movement?

I think Bioware wanted to impress everyone with the magnitude of their "Not Truly Open But Still Large" world and the first planet, Eos, was crucial for that, to hit us with the experience out of the gate... and they pushed the limit of what PS4 can do.

Later worlds are half the size where those first impressions don't matter any more, and I had no frame drops on them only on Eos.

I can see that.

I actually did eventually encounter the same issue on X1 while on the second planet. The environment is calm yet the issue eventually comes back. There must be a memory leak too, after training on X1 I returned to find that I could only look on one axis of the controller but couldn't move, AI was frozen, buttons worked. Support is going well though.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline TeslaDev

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #31 on: 11:06 AM - 03/27/17 »
Quote
Are other PS4 users using the controller experiencing stutter, bad fps, and bad diagonal movement?

I think Bioware wanted to impress everyone with the magnitude of their "Not Truly Open But Still Large" world and the first planet, Eos, was crucial for that, to hit us with the experience out of the gate... and they pushed the limit of what PS4 can do.

Later worlds are half the size where those first impressions don't matter any more, and I had no frame drops on them only on Eos.

I can see that.

I actually did eventually encounter the same issue on X1 while on the second planet. The environment is calm yet the issue eventually comes back. There must be a memory leak too, after training on X1 I returned to find that I could only look on one axis of the controller but couldn't move, AI was frozen, buttons worked. Support is going well though.

Hmm.. I guess I never really noticed much frame dropping.  I am running PS4 Pro on a 1080p monitor.  The game has been really smooth for me.  Only a bit squirrelly with using another ST.  Running around using a controller felt okay too, but maybe the parts that get weird I've been on my xim.

Looking forward to the ST.  I'm REALLY liking this game.  Not sure why so many people are hating on it.  I would agree it's not at the same bar as the trilogy, but it's still a good game on its own.  Too many comparisons are being made.  Really like the skill tree, and various RPG elements.  Actual weapon drops, materials, crafting, etc.  It's got a ton of depth that I feel the trilogy always needed (although ME1 was solid in this regard - before they stripped it down in ME2).

Going to sink a lot of time into this game...

Offline Ding Chavez

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1187
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: DcIhNaGv3z
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #32 on: 02:06 PM - 03/27/17 »
[... snip ...]
 Support is going well though.
Any approximate ETA?  Not trying to rush or pressure you.

Online mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 54237
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #33 on: 04:05 PM - 03/27/17 »
Sorry, I can't accurately give estimates for support because I don't publish them.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline Ashbury_SF

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 44
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #34 on: 04:19 PM - 03/27/17 »
yeah, I've been refreshing this hourly - hope it comes out soon.  Would love to use it tonight.

Online mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 54237
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #35 on: 04:42 PM - 03/27/17 »
If you have twitter we will announce on @TeamXIM.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline Zationysk

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 79
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #36 on: 11:00 AM - 03/28/17 »
Yea I cant wait for the ST. But take ur time to make it awesome! :D

In the mean time I have been playing krogan vanguard on multiplayer lol

Headbutts ftw XD

Online mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 54237
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #37 on: 09:13 AM - 03/29/17 »
It's out, reload Manager for the update or go to menu->globals to force a library update.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline Ding Chavez

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1187
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: DcIhNaGv3z
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #38 on: 09:14 AM - 03/29/17 »
Yes!!!!  Thanks mist!  I will be using this later tonight. 

Offline Somebeach84

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Somebeach84
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #39 on: 09:43 AM - 03/29/17 »
Thank you mist for the heads up, I can't wait to go home and try this. The game is amazing and XIM4 is also.

Offline humanfemale

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 336
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #40 on: 09:48 AM - 03/29/17 »
Woo!

Btw here's how I mapped the powers:

Primary bindings:
R1 (power3): Shift
L1 (power1): F

Secondary bindings:
R1 (power3): Q
L1 (power1): Shift

So Q is one power (ie. Omni grenade), F is second power (ie. Charge), and Shift is now third power because it activates L1+R1 at the same time (ie. Nova).


Offline SomeZero

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: SomeZer0
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #41 on: 10:00 AM - 03/29/17 »
Woo!

Btw here's how I mapped the powers:

Primary bindings:
R1 (power3): Shift
L1 (power1): F

Secondary bindings:
R1 (power3): Q
L1 (power1): Shift

So Q is one power (ie. Omni grenade), F is second power (ie. Charge), and Shift is now third power because it activates L1+R1 at the same time (ie. Nova).

I do forward and back on the mouse and use wheel click in for both

Offline TeslaDev

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #42 on: 11:05 AM - 03/29/17 »
I do forward and back on the mouse and use wheel click in for both
Not a bad idea.  I use 1, 2 and 3 on keyboard for the 3 powers.  I usually open PC keybindings for games and align.

Offline TeslaDev

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 304
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #43 on: 11:57 AM - 03/29/17 »
Hey Mist -
I see Mass Effect Andromeda was given a "U".  Was it really that bad? 

Just curious, as it has felt better using alternate STs than what I felt in other games, such as GRWL and The Division (which a U was added later on).  Haven't tried the ST yet though...just was curious if there was a specific reasoning for the U designation so I can temper my expectations for when I get home from work and undoubtedly boot up MEA.

Offline Ratha

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 54
    • View Profile
Re: Mass Effect Andromeda ST and Settings
« Reply #44 on: 12:34 PM - 03/29/17 »
Is it just me or this game feels really bad on xim ? Just can't get the hang of it.