XIM Community

[Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working  (Read 989 times)

Offline -holocene

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
[Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working
« on: 02:37 AM - 04/29/16 »
Hey all, I just got my xim4 yesterday and it seems to be working fine...except for my keyboard. I am using a Corsair K70 RGB and while I noticed that some people seemed to have a problem with it, its currently on the compatible items list. My PS4 controller stills works while everything is hooked up (is it supposed to?) and my mouse works perfectly fine. And while it shows on the xim manager that a keyboard is connected, it doesn't show any button prompts when pressing any keys. Anyone know what might be going on?
« Last Edit: 09:33 AM - 04/29/16 by mist4fun »

Offline Od1n

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 32986
    • View Profile
Re: Keyboard only thing not working
« Reply #1 on: 08:06 AM - 04/29/16 »
did you follow the notification of your keyboard in the compatibility list?
the corsair k70 rgb needs to run in bios mode in order to work with the xim, more infos as i said in the hardware compatibility list :)

http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=32933.0
PS4 & X1 | C: MS | XIM4 | FW: the latest ofc! :) | Mon: BenQ XL2420Z | Pad: Zowie G-SR | KB: Ducky DK1008L Cherry Red O-Rings| A: AKG K701 Creative X7 Antlion Modmic | M: Zowie EC1-A | D: 3200 | P: 1000hz | BF4 4 HIP: 35 ADS: 20

My Fortnite Creator Code: beamimpact
Check out my Youtube Channel: XIM Central

Offline -holocene

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: [Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working
« Reply #2 on: 04:25 PM - 04/29/16 »
Holy @#$%, I had never even noticed that bios switch on the top of the keyboard....lmao. So do I switch it over into bios before plugging the keyboard into the xim and it should work fine?

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 57807
    • View Profile
Re: [Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working
« Reply #3 on: 04:43 PM - 04/29/16 »
You might have to update your firmware and Manager but otherwise yes, just flip the switch and then plug it in, start XIM4 up and it should work.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline -holocene

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: [Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working
« Reply #4 on: 11:19 PM - 04/30/16 »
Okay, so I tried using the keyboard in bios mode and everything worked perfectly. After a while, the spacebar (jump) stopped working even though the manager saw that it was being input. tried resetting and plugging everything in again and then it wouldn't recognize the keyboard as plugged in at all. Wasn't even shown in the manager. Any idea would could be causing this?

Online OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 41180
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: [Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working
« Reply #5 on: 09:34 AM - 05/01/16 »
That's the only key that stopped working -- the spacebar?
Get the most out of your XIM APEX, read the XIM APEX Support FAQ.

Offline -holocene

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: [Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working
« Reply #6 on: 01:51 PM - 05/01/16 »
At first. Then when I retried and plugged everything in again the keyboard wasn't working at all. Nor was it shown as being connected in the manager.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 57807
    • View Profile
Re: [Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working
« Reply #7 on: 04:44 PM - 05/01/16 »
Does it work if you attach it and then restart XIM4?
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline -holocene

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 11
    • View Profile
Re: [Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working
« Reply #8 on: 06:11 PM - 05/06/16 »
Sorry, but haven't been able to get on and reply but no, it doesn't work after reconnecting.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 57807
    • View Profile
Re: [Q/A] Keyboard only thing not working
« Reply #9 on: 06:18 PM - 05/06/16 »
Does the keyboard work consistently on PC without issues? I can only think to try plugging the USB power cable into a power source at this point but if it were a power issue I don't think some keys would work and others would not. If the power cable doesn't resolve the issue please try plugging your keyboard into a different port on XIM4.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos