XIM Community

[RESOLVED] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware  (Read 2242 times)

Offline evm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Using XIM4 on XBox one.  I got a headset adapter to chat but the mic is visually always on when looking at the screen in BO3 lobby.  I run the setup without xim in the middle and i don't have this problem.   So I updated the  firmware and manager.  Now nothing works, at random XIM4 won't power mouse or keyboard and I can't connect to the XIM4 via cell phone.
« Last Edit: 06:55 PM - 01/16/16 by mist4fun »

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58627
    • View Profile
Re: XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #1 on: 07:30 PM - 01/15/16 »
Which build were you using before you updated and what is the error message? Usually after you factory restore you may need to go over the re pairing steps.

Bluetooth Re-Pairing: If you need to re-pair after a Restore Factory Defaults of your XIM4, then please follow these steps to ensure your XIM4 is completely unpaired from your Manager device before attempting to re-pair:

  • Windows: Remove "XIM4" pairing from your Bluetooth Devices list and reboot.
  • Android: Remove "XIM4" pairing from your Bluetooth Devices list. Go to Settings -> Apps then All-Running apps list and select "Bluetooth Service". Force stop it and Clear Data and Clear Cache. Then reboot.
  • Android Marshmallow: Remove "XIM4" pairing from your Bluetooth Devices list. Go to Settings -> Apps then click the menu button in the top right corner and select "Show System". Find and select "Bluetooth Share" from the list. Select "Storage". Force stop it and Clear Data and Clear Cache. Then reboot.
  • iOS: No extra steps need to be taken.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline evm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #2 on: 07:42 PM - 01/15/16 »
Ok so I have power to the mouse and keyboard because the lights are on but the buttons do not function at all.
On my galaxy s6 there was no option to clear cache, just stop.  I did unpair XIM and it is not listed on the phone menu anymore.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58627
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #3 on: 07:43 PM - 01/15/16 »
Thanks. While you are on your phone can you go to settings->apps->xim4 manager and check the version number below it's name? It will start with 4.00
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline evm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #4 on: 07:49 PM - 01/15/16 »
Erro message from XIM app is ...

Connect failure Read failed, socket might closed or timeout, read ret: -1)[-1]

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58627
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #5 on: 07:49 PM - 01/15/16 »
Thanks for the error message, did you go to your settings and check the app version?
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline evm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #6 on: 07:50 PM - 01/15/16 »
4.00.20141114

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58627
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #7 on: 08:02 PM - 01/15/16 »
Thanks. The error message you posted sometimes comes up when you are running a mismatching firmware and Manager.

You mentioned updating your firmware and Manager but you are still using the old Manager from the play store. Please try the following.

1) Verify you have factory restored your XIM4 using the 20160104 firmware (linked below)
2) Uninstall the Manager on your phone
3) Unpair any current pairings
4) Restart your phone
5) Install the 20160401 Manager using the APK file in the Manager thread (linked below)
6) Pair with XIM4
7) Open Manager

Please read the installation and pairing instructions in each thread below.

20160104 Firmware: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=44409.0
20160104 Manager: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=44410.0
« Last Edit: 08:08 PM - 01/15/16 by mist4fun »
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline evm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #8 on: 08:21 PM - 01/15/16 »
So the play store has an old version of XIM4 Manager on it?  I am a little clueless on how to use that apk file.  I see, download it with the phone

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58627
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #9 on: 08:25 PM - 01/15/16 »
Yes, the play store has the stock Manager that is compatible with XIM4s being shipped out today. The latest build is 20160104, it was released last week. You mentioned updating your firmware to the last version and the error your posted is what you can see if you attempt to run a firmware and Manager that are not compatible with each other.

After you have followed the steps listed above up to step 4, using your phone download the apk file listed in the thread above. Open that file when the download is finished. If you aren't prompted then go to your phone download folder and open the apk there. Once installed proceed to the next step on the list above.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline evm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #10 on: 08:39 PM - 01/15/16 »
Ok so everything works now but the chat aspect.  The speaker in the BO3 lobby is still animated but when I run the same setup without the XIM3 I don't get this problem.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58627
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #11 on: 08:41 PM - 01/15/16 »
What are you using for chat? headset and stereo adapter brand?
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline evm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #12 on: 09:04 PM - 01/15/16 »
astro a40 amp with regular headphones and a separate mic.   I see this on the animated speaker in the BO3 lobby with the headset and mic unplugged too.   When I take the XIM 4 out of the loop there is no problem. 

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58627
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #13 on: 09:07 PM - 01/15/16 »
As far as I know we only test against the MS stereo adapter. Are you using this or the astro stereo adapter?
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline evm

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 324
    • View Profile
Re: [ACTIVE] XIM 4 will not work after upgrading firmware
« Reply #14 on: 09:28 PM - 01/15/16 »
Ok here is my setup.  I have the A40 mix amp connected to the xbox one with a USB cable and an optical cable.  I used to connect just headphones (no mic) to the mixamp.  I just bought an adapter for the Microsoft controller that allows for chat.  So do I just plug a mic into the controller?  Or do I connect the controller adapter via 3.5mm to 2.5  to the mixamp and then use a splitter coming out of the mixamp headphone jack to connect my headphones and separate mic?


Admin