XIM Community

Monitor or TV? also Razer Tartatus Chroma  (Read 4451 times)

Offline doses502

• View Profile
Monitor or TV? also Razer Tartatus Chroma
« on: 07:52 PM - 01/05/16 »
Hey guys, should I buy a gaming monitor for my xim4 set up or an LED 1080p? Im no expert on monitors/tv, so i need ur input on what to look for if i buy a LED tv!

Also, the RaZER Tartarus CHROMA.. Anyone use this joystick? my xim4 arrives tomorrow and im thinking about buying this joystick for my set-up. i know the razer tartarus is on the compatible list but is there any difference on the chroma version?

Offline antithesis

• MVP
    • View Profile
    • Mod Squad
Re: Monitor or TV? also Razer Tartatus Chroma
« Reply #1 on: 08:23 PM - 01/05/16 »
A monitor has lower lag than a TV, but a good TV has low enough lag that it doesn't really matter.

It all comes down to whether or not you game on the desktop, and what size screen you want to use.

I use a 32" Sony Bravia KDL32W700B on my desktop because that extra screen size makes a substantial difference over monitors, which typically top out at 27". With only 14ms of display lag, which is less than the time it takes to draw a single frame of a 60FPS game, it's "near enough is good enough" territory for my money.

Chroma simply means "customisable lighting" on the Tartarus. Get the Orbweaver if you want more buttons. Also, the thumbstick is digital rather than analog, which makes it useless for movement. Shouldn't matter if you use WASD for movement and is a good spot to map a d-pad.
« Last Edit: 11:51 PM - 01/05/16 by antithesis »

Official Australian distributor for XIM APEX, Titan One & Titan Two at Mod Squad
XIM APEX demos on Twitch and YouTube. Follow Twitter for live stream alerts

Offline MindControlZombies

• MVP
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: 10:17 PM - 01/05/16 »
A monitor has lower lag than a TV, but a good TV has low enough lag that it doesn't really matter.