XIM Community

Help me hear enemy footsteps in BO3Beta (PS4/X0)  (Read 1827 times)

Offline 3MIX_Edge

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 657
    • View Profile
Help me hear enemy footsteps in BO3Beta (PS4/X0)
« on: 12:28 AM - 08/31/15 »
Hi guys,

I use an Astro mixamp with the AudioTechnica ATH-ADG1 open air gaming headset but without using the Awareness perk, I cannot hear footsteps even with "Highboost" audio settings for the game.

Considering there are many tech savy people in here I'm wondering of how I could hear footsteps but also not have to use awareness. I hear Treyarch and AStro have some kind of partnership going on and the last time Treyarch teamed up with a headset manufacturer they created a headset that allowed footsteps to be heard in BO2 even without awareness.

I'd love some feedback/insight.

Thank you. :)
Be humble

Offline killawink64

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 558
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: Fouldeth
Re: Help me hear enemy footsteps in BO3Beta (PS4/X0)
« Reply #1 on: 07:51 AM - 09/01/15 »
http://www.amazon.com/Plantronics-GameCom-780-Headset-Surround/dp/B00B1KJK22/ref=sr_1_1?s=pc&ie=UTF8&qid=1441115184&sr=1-1&keywords=Plantronics+GameCom+780+Gaming+Headset I'm getting these in tomorrow. Supposedly made for gaming and spatial awareness, with music as a second use. $44 with amazon prime, I got one from the warehouse with minor damage to packaging for $30. I'll let you know.

As for the Astro setup, I am not familiar with that. From what I understand is if it has the mixamp deal, it should sound fine. (I have problems hearing the @#$% ninja tanks roll up behind me in bf4)

Offline Dale

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 4821
  • What would the great lion do?
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: DaleisGOD
Re: Help me hear enemy footsteps in BO3Beta (PS4/X0)
« Reply #2 on: 08:39 AM - 09/01/15 »
Hm. Your doing something wrong - footsteps in BO3 are ridiculously easy to hear - easier than any other COD except maybe MW3+sitreppro.

I think they should be nerfed. You can literally hear people across the map.

I use mixamp+ad-900+highboost.

Offline Lord Of The Sith

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 8150
  • Made up from mostly non toxic materials.
    • View Profile
Re: Help me hear enemy footsteps in BO3Beta (PS4/X0)
« Reply #3 on: 11:55 AM - 09/01/15 »
Hm. Your doing something wrong - footsteps in BO3 are ridiculously easy to hear - easier than any other COD except maybe MW3+sitreppro.

I think they should be nerfed. You can literally hear people across the map.

I use mixamp+ad-900+highboost.

High boost? Supercrunch for more treble, = clear footsteps.

High boost is OK, just Supercrunch is better.
Footsteps are fine in this game.

Perfect pub stomper, no need for silly Console eSports rules in a pubstomper.
Click > Here < for my COD4:RM / BOPs3 XIM4 Setup.

XIM4: FAQ - Downloads - Hardware Compatibility

Offline 3MIX_Edge

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 657
    • View Profile
Re: Help me hear enemy footsteps in BO3Beta (PS4/X0)
« Reply #4 on: 06:51 PM - 09/01/15 »
I tried Supercrunch, I couldn't hear the enemy.

I can hear my teammates footsteps, just not the enemies until I used Awareness.
Be humble

Offline Lord Of The Sith

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 8150
  • Made up from mostly non toxic materials.
    • View Profile
Re: Help me hear enemy footsteps in BO3Beta (PS4/X0)
« Reply #5 on: 01:11 AM - 09/02/15 »
I tried Supercrunch, I couldn't hear the enemy.

I can hear my teammates footsteps, just not the enemies until I used Awareness.

Yes, I think awareness is a no brainer. Out off all the in game audio settings 'Supercrunch' has the least bass, which = best for hearing footsteps and other enemy animation related audio, such as gun reloads and grenade pins being pulled, or landing near you.

Also, (its going to sound condescending) have you checked all your cables are working correctly and fully connected? Sometimes you can have an audio jack that isn't inserted properly, and you loose certain frequency's. Worth a check, I was using a 1 USB sound card with some PC360s and could hear a mouse fart on the other side of the map.
Click > Here < for my COD4:RM / BOPs3 XIM4 Setup.

XIM4: FAQ - Downloads - Hardware Compatibility