XIM Community

How to create an all-in-one PS3 XIM1?  (Read 2728 times)

Offline Citrus

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
How to create an all-in-one PS3 XIM1?
« on: 08:32 AM - 12/06/09 »
I have read the guide on building a XIM1 and I am just about ready to build my own for my PS3. I just have one question. How can I build the XIM1 without the need for a PS2 to PS3 adapter? I see a few XIM1 for PS3's being sold online that have a USB connection on both sides and do not need a PS2 to PS3 adapter. How are they able to do that? I have scanned through the forum and noticed a few other people asking the same question without a definitive answer.
« Last Edit: 09:15 AM - 12/06/09 by Citrus »

Offline Jon_Jon

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 598
    • View Profile
Re: How to create an all-in-one PS3 XIM1?
« Reply #1 on: 11:06 PM - 12/07/09 »
...i would guess that the adapters are disassembled and housed together inside the xim enclosure...(the toolsticks are too small that it only occupies (i assume) not more than 40% of the housing dimension)....

...anyway, don't take my word...this is really a wild guess...(just keeping myself active in the forum, as i'm having enough sleep since yesterday...).... :-* :-* :-*

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 52425
    • View Profile
Re: How to create an all-in-one PS3 XIM1?
« Reply #2 on: 11:13 PM - 12/07/09 »
The xim1 board fills the enclosure case length and width wise if I remember right. But it only uses half, or even less than half of the depth space.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline tweak

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2346
    • View Profile
Re: How to create an all-in-one PS3 XIM1?
« Reply #3 on: 01:11 AM - 12/08/09 »
Well...they probably buy a PS2 to PS3 cable and solder that on the board instead (usually you just buy a PS2 extension cable or something?...  Does that make sense to you?)
« Last Edit: 07:18 PM - 12/08/09 by tweak »

Offline Citrus

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 2
    • View Profile
Re: How to create an all-in-one PS3 XIM1?
« Reply #4 on: 10:38 AM - 12/09/09 »
Has anyone here done it? Is it really just as simple as cutting off the PS2 side of a Yuba PS2-to-PS3 adapter and soldering it to the toolstick?

Offline tweak

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2346
    • View Profile
Re: How to create an all-in-one PS3 XIM1?
« Reply #5 on: 12:16 PM - 12/09/09 »
Honestly it probably is.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 52425
    • View Profile
Re: How to create an all-in-one PS3 XIM1?
« Reply #6 on: 01:27 PM - 12/09/09 »
I'm pretty sure maximus does this, pm him to find out.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline nandox5

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 580
    • View Profile
Re: How to create an all-in-one PS3 XIM1?
« Reply #7 on: 06:09 PM - 08/10/10 »
i asked him and he didnt reply.. he doesnt wanna tell i guess..

but i got an idea. once i get my yobo and toolstick ill try it and see if it works.