XIM Community

static with mic connected.  (Read 7134 times)

Offline sandak

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 423
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: msutome
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #30 on: 06:55 AM - 08/27/14 »
Again like in that picture. Why does the 3.5mm cable have to be plugged into the AUX in of the DSS2? I see no point in this. What does it do? The only thing I ever plugged in there was my phone so I can use it as an mp3 player.

I use it to go first into an amp, then into my DSS2 so I can amplify the audio chat.

Offline R3MiX

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1222
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: KAMPR-
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #31 on: 06:58 AM - 08/27/14 »
Couldn't you do that on the xbox one's voice/game settings?
XiM3R since ever since.

Offline Sif Noob

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1170
  • As If!!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel!
  • Gamertag: sif noob
  • PSN ID: T3h_GrayWo1f3
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #32 on: 06:58 AM - 08/27/14 »
Again like in that picture. Why does the 3.5mm cable have to be plugged into the AUX in of the DSS2? I see no point in this. What does it do? The only thing I ever plugged in there was my phone so I can use it as an mp3 player.
Do you get chat audio on xbone without it?
Because once you plug in a headset adapter to your controller chat audio will only come through the adapter. Which is why you need a y-cable so that you can plug a mic in and run the chat audio into the DSS2 via aux in.
Game sound via optical into DSS2, chat audio via 3.5mm from headset adapter> y-cable> DSS2
AD700+DSS2/ g500s/ CM QuickFire TK/ asus VX238H/ xbone/ x360/ ps3/ ps4/ xim4!- FTW :P


Offline R3MiX

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1222
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: KAMPR-
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #33 on: 07:34 AM - 08/27/14 »
Just realized there is no game and voice settings to play through headset or speakers on the xbox one. No wonder why ya'll are having this issue. When I play on the one I use kinetic for chat. Sorry ya'll thought I could help but I was not that knowledgeable of the situation.
XiM3R since ever since.

Offline Sif Noob

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1170
  • As If!!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel!
  • Gamertag: sif noob
  • PSN ID: T3h_GrayWo1f3
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #34 on: 07:35 AM - 08/27/14 »
All good brother. Appreciate it anyways it's the thought that counts ;)
AD700+DSS2/ g500s/ CM QuickFire TK/ asus VX238H/ xbone/ x360/ ps3/ ps4/ xim4!- FTW :P


Offline sandak

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 423
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: msutome
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #35 on: 10:12 AM - 08/27/14 »
So where did we end up with this? I'm willing to test out a few things.

Offline R3MiX

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1222
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: KAMPR-
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #36 on: 11:04 AM - 08/27/14 »
I remember once I was told that having a shorter cable reduces feedback/static etc. Try using a short 3.5mm cable and/or USB cable. Not sure if it'll work in your situation but when I did car audio installation a few years ago it definitely eliminated feedback [ shorter ground wire, rca jacks, and etc.]
XiM3R since ever since.

Offline Sif Noob

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1170
  • As If!!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel!
  • Gamertag: sif noob
  • PSN ID: T3h_GrayWo1f3
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #37 on: 04:21 PM - 08/27/14 »
So where did we end up with this? I'm willing to test out a few things.
I swapped out all the cables to eliminate if it was one of them,  and I tried my other xbone controller. Only things I couldn't swap were the y-cable and headset adapter and the DSS2 itself as I only have one of each,
I ordered another y-cable should be here within a week.
Other than that... I've tried everything so I hope it's just a dodgy cable.
AD700+DSS2/ g500s/ CM QuickFire TK/ asus VX238H/ xbone/ x360/ ps3/ ps4/ xim4!- FTW :P


Offline Sif Noob

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1170
  • As If!!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel!
  • Gamertag: sif noob
  • PSN ID: T3h_GrayWo1f3
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #38 on: 10:16 PM - 09/01/14 »
My new y cable arrived today and everything works now. No static.
AD700+DSS2/ g500s/ CM QuickFire TK/ asus VX238H/ xbone/ x360/ ps3/ ps4/ xim4!- FTW :P


Offline sandak

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 423
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: msutome
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #39 on: 10:20 PM - 09/01/14 »
i guess i'll have to try one out too

Offline Au1d Yin

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 571
    • View Profile
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #40 on: 04:29 AM - 09/02/14 »
My new y cable arrived today and everything works now. No static.

Good to hear  :)  ...  now pump up the volume and have some fun  :)

Offline Sif Noob

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1170
  • As If!!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel!
  • Gamertag: sif noob
  • PSN ID: T3h_GrayWo1f3
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #41 on: 05:47 AM - 09/02/14 »
My new y cable arrived today and everything works now. No static.

Good to hear  :)  ...  now pump up the volume and have some fun  :)
Effin Aye :P

i am still yet to actually talk to someone online as i havent been able to play yet... lol but i did test theres no static anymore lol
AD700+DSS2/ g500s/ CM QuickFire TK/ asus VX238H/ xbone/ x360/ ps3/ ps4/ xim4!- FTW :P


Offline beung

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 161
    • View Profile
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #42 on: 12:52 PM - 09/02/14 »
The only way to get chat audio without using the Kinect at this time is to use the Xbone Stereo adaptor that you connect to the controller.

Here is the way I would setup for DSS:
Connect the Xbone to the DSS via Optical for game audio only
Connect the Y cable (3.5mm) to the Xbone stereo adaptor
Connect the DSS Aux to the headset plug of the Y cable, this will mix in the chat audio
Connect the Modmic to the mic plug of the Y cable
Turn the balance on the Xbone stereo adaptor to all chat (keep pressing the chat icon until it beeps)

Offline Sif Noob

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1170
  • As If!!
    • View Profile
    • My YouTube Channel!
  • Gamertag: sif noob
  • PSN ID: T3h_GrayWo1f3
Re: static with mic connected.
« Reply #43 on: 06:30 PM - 09/02/14 »


Yeah this is how I have it set up.
AD700+DSS2/ g500s/ CM QuickFire TK/ asus VX238H/ xbone/ x360/ ps3/ ps4/ xim4!- FTW :P