XIM Community

USB Switch fine?  (Read 8154 times)

Offline Vexz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
USB Switch fine?
« on: 05:51 PM - 07/14/14 »
The following picture explains the setup:




The XIM4 will get the Mouse and Keyboard signals only via one USB port. Will the XIM4 have any problems with that?
« Last Edit: 05:56 PM - 07/14/14 by Vexz »

Offline Vexz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #1 on: 04:35 AM - 07/16/14 »
Noone knows? That's pretty sad. :(

Offline roads

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 19556
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #2 on: 05:56 AM - 07/16/14 »
yes should work, iogear meachnical switch is said to work.
Crusade atm: none

Offline Vexz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #3 on: 06:40 AM - 07/16/14 »
Great, thanks.
A friend just told me that for every signal of any device there's an ID for that device so it's no problem to run multiple devices over one USB wire. According to your reply I conclude that there is no need for a driver for a USB Switch (or it's already included for some in the XIM4).

I just looked up the IOGEAR Switch I'd need but it's very expensive. I found the exact same USB switch from Aten and it's less than the half of the price. Does anybody know if Aten USB Switches also work with the XIM4?


Thanks in advance.


Edit:
Shouldn't make a difference since these two USB Switches seem to be the exact same device. The only differences are the prices and the brand on it. In Germany the prices of those two are reversed. Means the Aten is much cheaper here than the IOGEAR one. Should be fine with the Aten one.

IOGEAR:
http://www.amazon.com/IOGEAR-Peripheral-Sharing-Switch-GUS402/dp/B00BD8I2OY/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&qid=1405515443&sr=8-1

Aten:
http://www.amazon.com/Aten-USB-Switch-2-Port-AT-US224/dp/B00B1RX0L2/ref=sr_1_cc_1?s=aps&ie=UTF8&qid=1405515508&sr=1-1-catcorr


Edit 2: I found out IOGEAR is a brand launched by Aten in 1999. Means Aten KVMs are often (or maybe always) the same. Probably at least if they look the same like those two mentiones above.
« Last Edit: 11:40 AM - 07/16/14 by Vexz »

Offline Steax

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 28
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #4 on: 02:16 PM - 07/16/14 »
Im interesting too with this question. I need to switch keyboard and mouse between PS4 and PC. So who tested any?


Offline Od1n

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 30813
    • View Profile
PS4 & X1 | C: MS | XIM4 | FW: the latest ofc! :) | Mon: BenQ XL2420Z | Pad: Zowie G-SR | KB: Ducky DK1008L Cherry Red O-Rings| A: AKG K701 Creative X7 Antlion Modmic | M: Zowie EC1-A | D: 3200 | P: 1000hz | BF4 4 HIP: 35 ADS: 20

My Fortnite Creator Code: beamimpact
Check out my Youtube Channel: XIMGameplay

Offline Vexz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #7 on: 03:22 PM - 07/16/14 »
No its this one people use.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B001D1UTC4/ref=s9_psimh_gw_p147_d0_i2?pf_rd_m=ATVPDKIKX0DER&pf_rd_s=center-2&pf_rd_r=1BCDQT14H35R3C62Q5BP&pf_rd_t=101&pf_rd_p=1688200382&pf_rd_i=507846

I wonder if this is the only Switch that works with the XIM4 because I'd prefer the one I mentioned in my last post. I don't need VGA, just USB.

Offline roads

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 19556
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #8 on: 03:24 PM - 07/16/14 »
try and tell us
Crusade atm: none

Offline Vexz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 72
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #9 on: 03:52 PM - 07/16/14 »
try and tell us

Will do that.

Offline QuicKill87

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #10 on: 05:02 PM - 09/24/14 »
Instead of starting a new thread on a similar topic, I'll ask here. Are there any issues with running a M/KB through one port on the Xim4? The switch would only have one wire to the xim4 and the other to the PC. Also, does anyone know if the one posted by Vexz would work? I only ask because I don't need the video aspect of the hub.

Offline Od1n

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 30813
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #11 on: 07:00 PM - 09/24/14 »
it it works like a hub then one cable for both mouse and keyboard is fine, the XIM4 does accept that
PS4 & X1 | C: MS | XIM4 | FW: the latest ofc! :) | Mon: BenQ XL2420Z | Pad: Zowie G-SR | KB: Ducky DK1008L Cherry Red O-Rings| A: AKG K701 Creative X7 Antlion Modmic | M: Zowie EC1-A | D: 3200 | P: 1000hz | BF4 4 HIP: 35 ADS: 20

My Fortnite Creator Code: beamimpact
Check out my Youtube Channel: XIMGameplay

Offline Hyp

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #12 on: 11:12 PM - 02/02/16 »
I hate to necro a thread of this age but the diagram in the initial post is the exact setup I'm going for. 1 M/KB, PC, PS4.

With either of the USB switches mentioned in this thread, would it be necessary (or if not required at least beneficial) to run power to it rather than relying on the PS4 / Computer?

With the GUS402 model it looks like I could run a standard micro USB power supply to it, preventing me from needing to recharge my PS4 controller or worry about Xim disconnects.

I'm assuming something like this - http://amzn.com/B00NL7WK2U
Would work fine with this - http://amzn.com/B00BD8I2OY

Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: 11:16 PM - 02/02/16 by Hyp »

Offline Od1n

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 30813
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #13 on: 12:12 PM - 02/04/16 »
yeah that should work and will give more electricity to the system
though additionsl electricity is only really needed if your devices are very power-soaking, such as keyboards with backlight and stuff
PS4 & X1 | C: MS | XIM4 | FW: the latest ofc! :) | Mon: BenQ XL2420Z | Pad: Zowie G-SR | KB: Ducky DK1008L Cherry Red O-Rings| A: AKG K701 Creative X7 Antlion Modmic | M: Zowie EC1-A | D: 3200 | P: 1000hz | BF4 4 HIP: 35 ADS: 20

My Fortnite Creator Code: beamimpact
Check out my Youtube Channel: XIMGameplay

Offline Hyp

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 25
    • View Profile
Re: USB Switch fine?
« Reply #14 on: 12:30 PM - 02/04/16 »
Thanks Od1n.

I'm planning on using the logitech G710+ (which has back lightning) & Logitech G502 Proteus Core (also has lighting).

I haven't fully landed on a USB switch yet. I'm now considering the route of USB headset also going through the switch. That would draw more power for sure. I'm not sure if that would impact quality though.

Are you able to speak towards the switching in terms of how your PC and Xim handle it? You're not getting the windows new device is ready to be installed hardware checks or anything like that after switching from console to PC are you?


Admin