XIM Community

How do I map my Joystick, Throttle and Rudder Pedals to the XIM2?  (Read 4821 times)

Offline geo111

• View Profile
I have a Thrustmaster Cougar HOTAS (Joystick and Throttle controls), Rudder Pedals and a XIM2.

How do I tell the XIM software to look at all of these analog inputs? All the XIM Configure software can see is the joystick.

I'm playing Battlefield 1943 and flying in this game would be so much more fun if I could use my HOTAS and Rudder pedals.

Info on the Cougar: http://www.thrustmaster.com/product.aspx?ProductID=11&PlatformID=5

Offline OBsIV

• Administrator
  • MVP
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
XIM supports DirectInput joysticks, and, can use the primary X and Y axis for analog movement, and, all digital buttons. It looks like your joystick has many more analog features.

What does your joystick look like when you view it under game controllers control panel applet in Windows?
Get the most out of your XIM APEX, read the XIM APEX Support FAQ.

Offline geo111

• View Profile
Good morning OBsIV,

Joystick = X and Y

Throttle = Z

Rudder = RZ (might be ZR or Rotational Z.)

Here is an article on the Cougar's analog axes.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/thrustmaster-hotas-cougar,458-5.html

This evening, I'll take a screen shot of the game controller applet.

« Last Edit: 09:07 AM - 07/10/09 by geo111 »

Offline geo111

• View Profile
When I open the Game Controllers applet:

After clicking on Properties:

Let me know if you need more information.

What do you think? Can you add the support for the throttle and rudder axes? If you can do it, will you?

Offline slayersteve

• MVP
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: x SLAYER Steve

Offline OBsIV

• Administrator
  • MVP
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog