XIM Community

anyone using mirillis action?  (Read 4651 times)

Offline amak1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 5292
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Wa2En5emble
anyone using mirillis action?
« on: 03:11 PM - 05/02/13 »
So i thought i might post a video review on this pc capture software... it uses an interesting way of capturing pc footage while preserving frame rate. Im not going to say its all gravy but the way it goes about utilising the onboard graphics of newer intel processors to mirror and capture footage is pretty cool and will probably work amazingly when it is better optimised.

So anyone used it or read up on it yet?

Heres the link: 

http://mirillis.com/en/products/action.html
« Last Edit: 04:25 PM - 05/02/13 by amak1 »
Ice... 15ml lime cordial... 1 dash angostura bitters... 2 oz 100% agave tequila... top off with sprite or 7 up

Offline trenth

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1279
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: TrentHallmark
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #1 on: 03:15 PM - 05/02/13 »
Link to it!

Offline Xog

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 3653
    • View Profile
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #2 on: 10:13 PM - 05/02/13 »
so basically it does what I do with my capture card.

I duplicate my monitor display to my capture card (set it as a monitor in the "Personalize" control panel) and just output thru hdmi from video card to capture card.

1080p livetream while playing on pc
http://www.twitch.tv/quiet_l/b/398715533

skip to about 16:15
« Last Edit: 10:38 PM - 05/02/13 by Xog »

Offline HolyFenix

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 877
  • OriginID: HolyFenix
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: HolyFenix
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #3 on: 10:44 PM - 05/02/13 »
So for recording PC gaming it does decent quality. At some points I was getting fps drops playing COD4 at 1080p. Not sure if this would go away on a more powerful PC or not. but generally I run COD4 at over 120fps. In Starcraft 2 it was looked very pretty. Like I was watching a replay. I needed to update multiple other games so I will continue to test and see if the FPS drop was a COD lag thing, or because of the software.
"Just remember, the most important objective in Titanfall is destroying the drop ship" ~Me
Dude did something bad, got warned by a mod, then had a porn fueled meltdown.

Offline amak1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 5292
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Wa2En5emble
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #4 on: 10:59 PM - 05/02/13 »
so basically it does what I do with my capture card.

I duplicate my monitor display to my capture card (set it as a monitor in the "Personalize" control panel) and just output thru hdmi from video card to capture card.

1080p livetream while playing on pc
http://www.twitch.tv/quiet_l/b/398715533

skip to about 16:15

But it does it without the cap card... err yea i guess its using the onboard graphics as the cap card which is kinda cool. Obviously programs like this are unnecessary if you have a card though.

@fenix are you using the quick synch function?

The problems i ran into were that the 60fps recording doesnt work at all... and the 30 fps recording stutters here and there ( this could be due to fps drops below 30)

My framerate hits were way better than recording with afterburner fraps or xsplit in crysis 3 though.

It needs optimising but could be awesome in the future. Let me know how your testing goes fenix.
« Last Edit: 11:52 PM - 05/02/13 by amak1 »
Ice... 15ml lime cordial... 1 dash angostura bitters... 2 oz 100% agave tequila... top off with sprite or 7 up

Offline HolyFenix

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 877
  • OriginID: HolyFenix
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: HolyFenix
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #5 on: 09:21 AM - 05/03/13 »
Okay Also tested World of Tanks for 1 match. This time I had no stutters while playing the game but I did have 1 stutter during playback but it was minor.

The biggest advantage I see here is that its very easy to use, decent price for recording PC games, and best of all the file sizes aren't gigantic. 2.3GB's for a 15 minute video at 1080p with very nice quality. I will test out BF3, Company of Heroes, Crysis 1 and 2, and Age of Empires HD tomorrow. I'll also go back and see how much of a performance hit I am taking while running this.
"Just remember, the most important objective in Titanfall is destroying the drop ship" ~Me
Dude did something bad, got warned by a mod, then had a porn fueled meltdown.

Offline amak1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 5292
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Wa2En5emble
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #6 on: 12:06 AM - 05/04/13 »
Ive had some playback stutter issues. Actually it really pissed me off on a couple of recordings.... they need to make some improvements.
Ice... 15ml lime cordial... 1 dash angostura bitters... 2 oz 100% agave tequila... top off with sprite or 7 up

Offline trenth

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1279
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: TrentHallmark
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #7 on: 02:02 AM - 05/04/13 »
So this software doesn't work with AMD cpu's? Just onboard Intel correct?

Offline Xog

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 3653
    • View Profile
anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #8 on: 04:04 AM - 05/04/13 »
Ive had some playback stutter issues. Actually it really pissed me off on a couple of recordings.... they need to make some improvements.

Gives me worse performance degrade for recording in 720p when xsplit streams the same game in 1080p :p

Offline amak1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 5292
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Wa2En5emble
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #9 on: 11:18 AM - 05/04/13 »
So this software doesn't work with AMD cpu's? Just onboard Intel correct?

I think its just the quick synch function that doesnt work with amd... i havnt tried it without the quick synch though but it wont record in h264 at 720 or 1080 without the quicksynch.

At this point i cant reccommend the product they definitely need to iron out some issues or im doing something wrong. Be sure im going to link this thread right to the devs though.
Ice... 15ml lime cordial... 1 dash angostura bitters... 2 oz 100% agave tequila... top off with sprite or 7 up

Offline amak1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 5292
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Wa2En5emble
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #10 on: 12:56 PM - 05/04/13 »
Actually my playback stuttering seems like it could be hdd related... ill have to try another hdd.
Ice... 15ml lime cordial... 1 dash angostura bitters... 2 oz 100% agave tequila... top off with sprite or 7 up

Offline HolyFenix

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 877
  • OriginID: HolyFenix
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: HolyFenix
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #11 on: 06:05 PM - 05/04/13 »
I can not recommend this either. The Stuttering problem was not because of my PC its because of the product. Also while some games record just fine. (SC2, WoT, Bf3). The playback stuttered. Fraps is still your best bet right now for recording footage.
"Just remember, the most important objective in Titanfall is destroying the drop ship" ~Me
Dude did something bad, got warned by a mod, then had a porn fueled meltdown.

Offline trenth

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1279
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: TrentHallmark
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #12 on: 08:00 PM - 05/04/13 »
I can not recommend this either. The Stuttering problem was not because of my PC its because of the product. Also while some games record just fine. (SC2, WoT, Bf3). The playback stuttered. Fraps is still your best bet right now for recording footage.

Don't foreget about DXtory.

Offline amak1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 5292
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Wa2En5emble
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #13 on: 08:46 PM - 05/04/13 »
Im going to try that obs apparently its local recordings encode in h264 which is what i want.
Ice... 15ml lime cordial... 1 dash angostura bitters... 2 oz 100% agave tequila... top off with sprite or 7 up

Offline trenth

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1279
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: TrentHallmark
Re: anyone using mirillis action?
« Reply #14 on: 08:59 PM - 05/04/13 »
Im going to try that obs apparently its local recordings encode in h264 which is what i want.

I heard it lags alot?


Admin