XIM Community

Blue Screen  (Read 1778 times)

Offline Riseing

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 570
    • View Profile
    • My clan site
Blue Screen
« on: 11:03 AM - 06/10/09 »
Ok so every time I go to calibrate my Xim360. My computer crashes with a Blue screen. I am currently not very happy with this and am considring reinstalling xp
Help me in my quest to get tweak positive rep.
http://www.ximmers.com/forum/index.php
Go there for macros and such.

Offline slayersteve

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2162
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: x SLAYER Steve
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #1 on: 12:12 PM - 06/10/09 »
About to do the same...
I don't crash on calibration but every now and then I lose connection with the XIM360. Pretty well think it's my ancient (and no doubt corrupt as hell) install of XP at this point. At least I hope it is. Would be a drag to wipe and reinstall for no reason... Maybe I'll ghost it first. hmmmm.

Offline tweak

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2346
    • View Profile
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #2 on: 12:28 PM - 06/10/09 »
Are you able to see what the cause of the Blue Screen is before reboot?  Usually it points to a .sys file that causes the crash in the first place.

You may need to do a clean install.

Any security software running that may conflict?  I had a hell of a time with Kaspersky at one point and finally ditched it.
« Last Edit: 03:05 PM - 06/10/09 by tweak »

Offline Riseing

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 570
    • View Profile
    • My clan site
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #3 on: 01:03 PM - 06/10/09 »
No the blue screen flashes for about 1 sec before rebooting. However after restart I get an error report that puts me to this page http://wer.microsoft.com/responses/Response.aspx/10/en-us/5.1.2600.2.00010300.3.0?SGD=b11316bc-e6ce-4ce8-a121-0ab325092726.

I have tryed uninstalling an reinstalling. It will only crash once the drivers are installed and if both usb cables are pluged into the computer. also I currently have no antivirus running.

Update


http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2VvTVaNple4






« Last Edit: 01:53 PM - 06/10/09 by Riseing »
Help me in my quest to get tweak positive rep.
http://www.ximmers.com/forum/index.php
Go there for macros and such.

Offline tweak

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2346
    • View Profile
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #4 on: 03:06 PM - 06/10/09 »
Hmm...you connecting through a hub?

Have you tried different USB ports, located on the back or anything like that?

Running SP3?

Offline Riseing

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 570
    • View Profile
    • My clan site
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #5 on: 03:09 PM - 06/10/09 »
Have tryed all 8 of my ports and yes I am running SP3
Help me in my quest to get tweak positive rep.
http://www.ximmers.com/forum/index.php
Go there for macros and such.

Offline slayersteve

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2162
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: x SLAYER Steve
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #6 on: 03:14 PM - 06/10/09 »
Hey Tweak, isn't stop 50 usually RAM?
I know it CAN be other devices or drivers but usually it's RAM - either straight up bad RAM or timings are off or the like...

Offline Riseing

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 570
    • View Profile
    • My clan site
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #7 on: 03:17 PM - 06/10/09 »
0x00000050: PAGE_FAULT_IN_NONPAGED_AREA
(Click to consult the online MSDN article.)
Requested data was not in memory. An invalid system memory address was referenced. Defective memory (including main memory, L2 RAM cache, video RAM) or incompatible software (including remote control and antivirus software) might cause this Stop message, as may other hardware problems (e.g., incorrect SCSI termination or a flawed PCI card).






I think your right
Help me in my quest to get tweak positive rep.
http://www.ximmers.com/forum/index.php
Go there for macros and such.

Offline tweak

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2346
    • View Profile
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #8 on: 08:05 PM - 06/10/09 »
Nice call slayersteve.

Are there RAM testing apps? 

Offline Riseing

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 570
    • View Profile
    • My clan site
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #9 on: 09:48 AM - 06/11/09 »
Do you think a nice fresh copy of windows would fix this?
Help me in my quest to get tweak positive rep.
http://www.ximmers.com/forum/index.php
Go there for macros and such.

Offline tweak

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2346
    • View Profile
Re: Blue Screen
« Reply #10 on: 09:54 AM - 06/11/09 »
Generally, no.  If it is a RAM issue, then the issue is hardware and reinstalling the OS won't fix it.  But if you've got nothing to lose or it's easy to backup your stuff, it's worth a try.

Alternatively you could just do individual sticks of RAM to see if you can calibrate and thus target which stick(s) is/are bad.  Bad RAM could also cause stability issues, so it's worth figuring it out and replacing it.