XIM Community

PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding  (Read 1891 times)

Offline Jjachim

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« on: 10:01 AM - 02/22/13 »
I have been playing MW3 with my Xim Edge setup and things are working great.  But I have a problem when I tried to play Borderlands.  The profile loaded correctly, but the mouse buttons (fire,aim) do not work.  The mouse movement is fine.  So I tried the MW3 profile.  With that, the mouse buttons work, but the mouse movement is really slow, even with sensitivity set really high.  The hardware is just a basic Dell keyboard and mouse.  I don't understand why the mouse works for one and not the others

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 36681
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #1 on: 10:05 AM - 02/22/13 »
Welcome to the community. Your keyboard is working fine in Borderlands?
Get the most out of your XIM APEX, read the XIM APEX Support FAQ.

Offline Jjachim

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #2 on: 10:10 AM - 02/22/13 »
Yes, it seems to be.  movement, switch weapons, use special all work like I think they should.  I found that the 'g' key will fire will shoot the weapon in hand.

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 36681
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #3 on: 10:15 AM - 02/22/13 »
In-game binding to your mouse won't work?
Get the most out of your XIM APEX, read the XIM APEX Support FAQ.

Offline Jjachim

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #4 on: 10:43 AM - 02/22/13 »
I have not tried to do that.  I'll give it a try and respond back with the results.

Offline Jjachim

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #5 on: 11:13 AM - 02/22/13 »
In game binding worked.  After binding the two mouse buttons, I lost reload, so I had to rebind that one too.  Will the in game binding save to the profile, or will I have to do that each time?  Does this also mean there might be a problem with the Borderland profile?

Offline Jjachim

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #6 on: 01:32 PM - 02/22/13 »
Ok, I think I know what happened.  The template for Borderlands has an error in it.  R1 and R2 are reversed and L1 and L2 are reversed.  So when I thought I was defining a key for L1 I was really programming it for L2.  I noticed this after I did an in game binding and then later saw that one key did two functions. 

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 36681
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #7 on: 03:10 PM - 02/22/13 »
Are you sure you selected Playstation when you created the Config?
Get the most out of your XIM APEX, read the XIM APEX Support FAQ.

Offline Jjachim

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 6
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #8 on: 08:37 PM - 02/22/13 »
I had the same question, since there is nothing on the profile symbol that would indicate PS3.  So I thought I would make sure by trying to create a new Borderlands profile and making sure I chose PS3.  But when I tried that, it said I already had a profile.  So I deduced that I did have the right one after all.  Also, I did go through the preloads and get rid of all xbox profiles before all of this.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 52755
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #9 on: 09:00 PM - 02/22/13 »
Verify that your in game controller options are set to default. Edge assumes the button layout is set to default and if you're using another button layout then your key assignments won't be correct.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 36681
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #10 on: 09:27 PM - 02/22/13 »
The picture of the controller switches to a Dualshock3 for PS3 Configs.
Get the most out of your XIM APEX, read the XIM APEX Support FAQ.

Offline cenorexia

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 22
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: cenorexia
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #11 on: 06:31 AM - 07/31/17 »
Sorry for digging out this old topic, but I'm just now facing the same problem.

Using a XIM4, the profile for Borderlands on PS3 seems to have L2/L1 and R2/R1 swapped.
It's assuming shooting is R1 and ADS is L1, but it's R2 and L2.

There is a button layout in game which switches L1/L2 and R1/R2 (called 'Resistance'). But that messes up other bindings of the XIM4, since all the other buttons are assuming the DEFAULT button layout.

Anyway.. Is there a way to change the labeling of the buttons in the XIM smart phone app so that you can re-label R1/R2 and L1/L2 yourself?


Cheers,
ceno

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 52755
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Borderlands mouse buttons not responding
« Reply #12 on: 08:35 AM - 07/31/17 »
Not locally. You can assign the buttons based on their action instead of the action names. Ignore XIM's preset names and then set your assignments based on what they do in game.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos