XIM Community

Edge - First Impressions from an Old School XIMer  (Read 994 times)

Offline colb

• MVP
  • The Global Elite
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: mynameiscolb
  • PSN ID: mynameiscolb
I've been rocking the XIM2 for a few years now, and it's exceed expectations in every way. What was originally hours and hours of frustration on the sticks, translated into hours and hours of fun playing on a mouse & keyboard (mostly on Call of Duty).

When the XIM3 was released, I passed on purchasing the device. I was THAT much in love with my 2. Since COD was my primary game, I felt no need to upgrade. But then Valve announced CS:GO on console. I began to dread the thought of hitting release day with the XIM2, knowing Valve's crazy look mechanics. Their games are so wacky, and it makes aiming with a stick or mouse very difficult.

Last week, I bit the bullet and ordered my Edge. It arrived today, and here are my first impressions:

Initial setup was an absolute breeze. Seriously. I read through the quick start guide once (provided in the packaging), and already felt like I knew what I was doing. And I didn't even watch any of the videos (yet). I downloaded the latest software, updated the Edge, saved, closed, and disconnected. Only took 3 or 4 minutes total.

Connecting it to my XBOX, was again, very simple. There's a diagram right on the quick start guide that even shows you the preferred ports for your controller, mouse, & keyboard. Bang. Plugged it up, fired up the XBOX. Launched COD4.

Once in game, I noticed my sensitivity was crazy high. At first, I thought navigating a menu of colored lights may get confusing. I was wrong. Being able to change my sensitivity on the fly, and being able to feel it as I go is just a great great feature. Gone are the days of switching my monitor input over to PC, adjusting my config, saving, switching back, testing...yadda yadda.