XIM Community

PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N  (Read 5964 times)

Offline Flamemonkey

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2197
  • Nomnomnom?
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: H3X AntiStyle
PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« on: 09:48 AM - 04/30/12 »
OB, given that the PS3 recognizes generic USB controllers, that means that it doesn't need specifically to hijack another controller to do its magic. BUT, does the XIME require a controller plugged in for PS3 mode? Or does it, without an Xbox controller plugged in, switch to generic usb mode?

Quote
The M on the cover is supposed to let you know you need to be mature.

Offline ALIxReBORN

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 622
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Ali Gator Bites
  • PSN ID: Ali_GatorX
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #1 on: 09:50 AM - 04/30/12 »
I think u'd still need a wired xbox controller.

Offline singlecoilpickup

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 3677
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: CoilTap
  • PSN ID: singlecoilpickup
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #2 on: 10:08 AM - 04/30/12 »
You need a PS3 controller, not an Xbox controller. You just plug in a PS3 controller over USB.
Xbox One / PC
XIM Apex / Logitech G Pro Keyboard / Logitech G900
Astro MixAmp Pro TR / Sennheiser HD598 / Blue Yeti Mic

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 44145
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #3 on: 10:10 AM - 04/30/12 »
You need a PS3 controller, not an Xbox controller. You just plug in a PS3 controller over USB.

Correct. We won't lie and say we are officially licensed Sony hardware.
Get the most out of your XIM NEXUS, read the XIM NEXUS Support FAQ.

Offline Flamemonkey

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2197
  • Nomnomnom?
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: H3X AntiStyle
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #4 on: 10:12 AM - 04/30/12 »
I suppose I can live with that. MMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMMIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIIGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGGHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHHTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTTT trade for this then. If nothing else, I can get a much shorter USB cable for a PS3 controller than I can an Xbox one.

Quote
The M on the cover is supposed to let you know you need to be mature.

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 44145
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #5 on: 10:13 AM - 04/30/12 »
Besides, you'll need to if you want to do any in-game config editing as well.
Get the most out of your XIM NEXUS, read the XIM NEXUS Support FAQ.

Offline singlecoilpickup

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 3677
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: CoilTap
  • PSN ID: singlecoilpickup
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #6 on: 10:14 AM - 04/30/12 »
Not to change the subject - but will in-game sensitivity editing be available as well or just button mapping?
Xbox One / PC
XIM Apex / Logitech G Pro Keyboard / Logitech G900
Astro MixAmp Pro TR / Sennheiser HD598 / Blue Yeti Mic

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 44145
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #7 on: 10:16 AM - 04/30/12 »
Not to change the subject - but will in-game sensitivity editing be available as well or just button mapping?

Yes, Hip and ADS sensitivity as well all all button mapping (not secondary buttons though).
Get the most out of your XIM NEXUS, read the XIM NEXUS Support FAQ.

Offline singlecoilpickup

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 3677
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: CoilTap
  • PSN ID: singlecoilpickup
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #8 on: 10:19 AM - 04/30/12 »
Sweet. Thanks.
Xbox One / PC
XIM Apex / Logitech G Pro Keyboard / Logitech G900
Astro MixAmp Pro TR / Sennheiser HD598 / Blue Yeti Mic

Offline mindworm22

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2417
  • "I'm your huckleberry..."
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: Liquidboy
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #9 on: 12:01 PM - 04/30/12 »
PS3 comes with a wire automatically -- no additional cost to PS3 EDGE users. 


"You beat that horse to a bloody pulp in that circle-jerk of a thread .... and then poured the remains in a blender, pureed them, and gargled the leftovers. How you're not sick of it is beyond me." --- RookCheck

Offline dmxdex

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 583
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #10 on: 12:44 PM - 04/30/12 »
OBSIV as long as my pad doesnt have to be charging i dont mind, i just dont want a flat battery.

Offline W11cE

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1532
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #11 on: 08:44 PM - 04/30/12 »
So if i want to use ximE on both xbox 360 and ps3, i have to change controller every time i switch ximE from one console to another ?
I dont need to do that with xim3 :(

Offline SiNister

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1303
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #12 on: 09:00 PM - 04/30/12 »
Can't we just get an option to either have a controller or not, i mentioned this earlier? I mean OBsiV doesn't need to state "official sony product" or anything cos thats what he's worried about. But to be frank i don't think anyone gives a crap they just want better options and less wires etc.

Come on obsiv. In no way having the options to have a controller or not will ruin the xims reputation at all.

Offline Lord Of The Sith

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 8157
  • Made up from mostly non toxic materials.
    • View Profile
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #13 on: 09:01 PM - 04/30/12 »
Not to change the subject - but will in-game sensitivity editing be available as well or just button mapping?

Yes, Hip and ADS sensitivity as well all all button mapping (not secondary buttons though).

So you can't bind two buttons to one key?
Click > Here < for my COD4:RM / BOPs3 XIM4 Setup.

XIM4: FAQ - Downloads - Hardware Compatibility

Offline OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 44145
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: PS3 Mode... still needs a controller? Y/N
« Reply #14 on: 09:17 PM - 04/30/12 »
There is now choice, you must have a controller plugged in. That's how Edge knows which console you are on.

Yes, you can bind primary and secondary buttons. But, can only set primary in-game.
Get the most out of your XIM NEXUS, read the XIM NEXUS Support FAQ.