XIM Community

Keyboard Passthrough  (Read 5902 times)

Offline y2kmfic

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 309
    • View Profile
Keyboard Passthrough
« on: 06:45 PM - 11/05/11 »
Here's a simple KB app that allows you to use the same kb to play and type on... well if the 'playing' part was implemented.  I still need to figure out how to get XIMcommander working right.

The bad thing is that I needed a bunch of Thread.delays.  I threw this together just to see how it worked and am by no means a proficient developer.  I'd starve if I had to do this for a living.

Anyway, to use:
Place the the binary files in to a folder and run KBtest.exe. 
Then press Connect
To enter KB mode, press ctrl-k.  You'll hear a "doing" (SystemSounds.beep) when entering KB mode.  Press ctrl-k againd and you'll hear a "woosh" (SystemSounds.exlcamation) when leaving.

When you start typing, you need to be sure the xbox on-screen keypad is on the letter 'a'.  I haven't added caps or special keys.

Now I need to figure out how to implement XIMcommander.


KBtest Source

KBtest binary


Offline Od1n

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 30818
    • View Profile
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #1 on: 08:50 PM - 11/05/11 »
nice work, i really appreciate it! :)
PS4 & X1 | C: MS | XIM4 | FW: the latest ofc! :) | Mon: BenQ XL2420Z | Pad: Zowie G-SR | KB: Ducky DK1008L Cherry Red O-Rings| A: AKG K701 Creative X7 Antlion Modmic | M: Zowie EC1-A | D: 3200 | P: 1000hz | BF4 4 HIP: 35 ADS: 20

My Fortnite Creator Code: beamimpact
Check out my Youtube Channel: XIMGameplay

Offline tuffrabit

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7352
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #2 on: 09:55 PM - 11/05/11 »
Dude... you are a rockstar.

You should look at Kodek's .net commander to see about getting 'playing' part working.

BTW... Thread delays or sleeps are normal.  Sometimes you have to do that to avoid pegging the CPU.


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 54626
    • View Profile
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #3 on: 03:45 PM - 11/08/11 »
Is this specific to tuffrabit's wrapper? Can it run alongside Xim Manager or does it need to be integrated into it?
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline tuffrabit

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7352
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #4 on: 03:51 PM - 11/08/11 »
I looked at his source... he is including my wrapper.

No reason why it can run next too XIMManager.  Did you mean to say XIMCommander?  When this will run next to XIMCommander or not depends on how he is capturing input.  If it doesn't work, the best thing would be for him to talk to Kodek and get his code integrated into Kodek's .net commander.


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 54626
    • View Profile
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #5 on: 04:15 PM - 11/08/11 »
Yes I meant Xim Commander, I tend to do that when I'm multitasking. Which is always :)

Ah I see, I was more or less curious if this should have it's own thread. I'll be able to test it out tomorrow.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline tuffrabit

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7352
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #6 on: 04:19 PM - 11/08/11 »
Yes.  It should have its own thread.


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline y2kmfic

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 309
    • View Profile
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #7 on: 10:14 PM - 11/08/11 »
Yeah, I got ximcommander to work, but still not quite right.  Getting it in to kodek's would be best so they're aren't 10 ximcommanders out there all doing their special thing. 

I'll at least get it to a good working state and release it here; people can choose to use it or not.
« Last Edit: 10:21 PM - 11/08/11 by y2kmfic »

Offline tuffrabit

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7352
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #8 on: 08:20 AM - 11/09/11 »
This is always gonna be a big GOTCHA with XIMBridge.  Any worthwhile features, like this one, will need to be incorporated into one of the XIMCommanders.  Doesn't really make sense to have multiple apps running that are fighting for input.


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 54626
    • View Profile
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #9 on: 02:00 PM - 11/09/11 »
Has anyone used this yet? kbtest.exe, ximbridge.dll, and ximbridgewrapper.dll are all in a folder.

Quote
Problem signature:
  Problem Event Name:   CLR20r3
  Problem Signature 01:   kbtest.exe
  Problem Signature 02:   1.0.0.0
  Problem Signature 03:   4eb5c2a6
  Problem Signature 04:   KBtest
  Problem Signature 05:   1.0.0.0
  Problem Signature 06:   4eb5c2a6
  Problem Signature 07:   1
  Problem Signature 08:   13
  Problem Signature 09:   System.BadImageFormatException
  OS Version:   6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
  Locale ID:   1033
  Additional Information 1:   2a49
  Additional Information 2:   2a49e006c888f45db5496d2a223605c3
  Additional Information 3:   984c
  Additional Information 4:   984cac9d6dda01582fcae271a083f43d
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline tuffrabit

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7352
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #10 on: 02:07 PM - 11/09/11 »
I've not tried using yet.  That exception "System.BadImageFormatException" is indicative of a marshalling error.

I'll try using it next time I sit down to play.  If I can reproduce this then I can make sure its not in my wrapper.


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline y2kmfic

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 309
    • View Profile
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #11 on: 10:01 AM - 11/19/11 »
Sorry.. was in in Chicago for a 10 days getting ready for a trade show.

Mist.. do you get the error immediately when you run the .exe, or does it show up later after you click "Connect", or after the app has been running/working for a few minutes?


Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 54626
    • View Profile
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #12 on: 11:08 AM - 11/19/11 »
Immediately, nothing pops up except for the message box.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline y2kmfic

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 309
    • View Profile
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #13 on: 03:51 PM - 11/20/11 »
Hmm.. not sure.  I tried on a virgin pc and was getting system.io.filenotfoundexception error.  So I ran a dependency walker on ximbridgewrapper.dll.  Turns out, it's looking for winusb.dll.  I installed the Belkin Easy Transfer Cable driver, and all is now good. 

Offline Savka

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 17
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Savka
Re: Keyboard Passthrough
« Reply #14 on: 10:12 PM - 05/04/12 »
Excuse my stupidity, but, I followed your "How to use" and I am not able to get this to work. I cant even get the .exe to load. Can some one please help me out a little further?

Also does this affect the xim3 at all, or compromise its current integrity? Or risk "breaking" the xim3?

I appreciate the help. As you can clearly see I am new xim3 owner... and WOW, I absolutely love it.