XIM Community

xbox 360 3D  (Read 1006 times)

Offline mlibed

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: mige151
xbox 360 3D
« on: 12:14 PM - 11/07/11 »
hey wassup ximers! I found a 3D setting on cod-black ops. is this possible? because i did some reseach on xbox 360 3D and it seems like its not compatible yet??? i dont know but thats what i heard. anyway,is there anyone using 3D on xbox? if so, what do u need to do this? 3D monitor? thanks :)

Offline Adzie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 131
  • If at first you don't succeed respawn & try again
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: AdzXT
Re: xbox 360 3D
« Reply #1 on: 01:08 PM - 11/07/11 »
hey wassup ximers! I found a 3D setting on cod-black ops. is this possible? because i did some reseach on xbox 360 3D and it seems like its not compatible yet??? i dont know but thats what i heard. anyway,is there anyone using 3D on xbox? if so, what do u need to do this? 3D monitor? thanks :)

You just need a 3D monitor (120Hz) and the glasses to go with it. If you enable 3D without a 3D monitor, you'll notice it just splits screen and shows the same thing on both sides (with a slight positional adjustment). Once you plug it into a 3D monitor, it'll show as a single 3D image.


Xbox 360 Resident Evil Limited Edition | Logitech G700 | Microsoft SideWinder X6 | TurtleBeach X11
Intel Q9650 @ 4GHz | Mushkin Blackline 8GB DDR3 1600MHz | Zotac Nvidia GTX 470 | 2x Vertex 2E 60GB (RAID0) | Custom Watercooling Loop

Offline chris408

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 326
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: DMC chris408
  • PSN ID: DMCchris408
Re: xbox 360 3D
« Reply #2 on: 01:12 PM - 11/07/11 »
you need a 3d monitor what supports hdmi 1.4a

Offline mlibed

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: mige151
Re: xbox 360 3D
« Reply #3 on: 01:19 PM - 11/07/11 »
i see..so i need to buy a 120hz (or higher) monitor to make this [email protected] what do u mean support 4.1a? what is that? lol sorry newbie here :) thanks!

Offline toysrme

  • 14 National Championships
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 8290
  • FannyPAX, best avatar EVAAAR!
    • View Profile
Re: xbox 360 3D
« Reply #4 on: 01:45 PM - 11/07/11 »
incorrect on all counts.


PS3 and xbox 360 support different versions of "3D".


PS3 had HDMI 1.3/1.4 which supports enough bandwidth for two 720p images, which it creates (at a huge frame rate penalty of 50-66% reduction in FPS) TWO vertically stacked 720p images


x360 has HDMI 1.2 (1.4 for new consoles) which does not support a pair of 720p images, instead of a pair of vertically stacked images that get's separated, x360 separates horizontal images that adds up to one 720p image. the images are extrapolated at by the TV to cover the screen size.



What it boils down too, is PS3 3D is a full resolution 20fps or less, unplayable but pretty slideshow.
where xbox 360 has an image quality hit, but maintains a playable framerate.

Somebody didn't read the rules before posting. You need a post count of 100 500 to talk directly to toys.
XIM Induced RAGE Video

^Global Win Rate = 46%

Offline mlibed

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 31
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: mige151
Re: xbox 360 3D
« Reply #5 on: 03:52 PM - 11/07/11 »
hmmm i see. when u said "new xbox", did u mean the "slim"? bcause i have like 3 yr old xbox. so doest that mean it support hdmi 1.2? what monitor would u recommend? thanks :)

Offline toysrme

  • 14 National Championships
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 8290
  • FannyPAX, best avatar EVAAAR!
    • View Profile
Re: xbox 360 3D
« Reply #6 on: 04:21 PM - 11/07/11 »
phat's support HDMI 1.2. slim's 1.4. (old ps3 1.3, new 1.4).

new xbox titles may take advantage of 1.4, tho none yet do. black ops works in the way i previously described
Somebody didn't read the rules before posting. You need a post count of 100 500 to talk directly to toys.
XIM Induced RAGE Video

^Global Win Rate = 46%

Offline MindControlZombies

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1417
    • View Profile
Re: xbox 360 3D
« Reply #7 on: 01:54 PM - 04/26/12 »
toys i cant be certain but wasnt the mw2 limited edt fat 1 of the last fat models which runs the 45/60 chip, do they only support 1.2 its just it was the last hardware revis b4 the 45/45chip slim models ?
sorry to bring up an old thread it aint worth a new1 tho ive got enough on the go :)
If I can make a Good map in 1 month why cant these clowns make a good map in 3 years ?


Offline toysrme

  • 14 National Championships
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 8290
  • FannyPAX, best avatar EVAAAR!
    • View Profile
Re: xbox 360 3D
« Reply #8 on: 02:54 PM - 04/26/12 »
im not sure which of the newer revisions are actually hdmi 1.4 compliant. i think about all the 1.2 ones got patched to fake it for 720p 3D tho sometime last year.
Somebody didn't read the rules before posting. You need a post count of 100 500 to talk directly to toys.
XIM Induced RAGE Video

^Global Win Rate = 46%