XIM Community

MW2 lag question  (Read 1088 times)

Offline ImaNewbie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
MW2 lag question
« on: 04:10 AM - 07/19/11 »
When I'm joining a game in the top corner it ussaly says over 80 ping is that good or bad my upload speed is .3

also since i delete the stimulis pack I'm lagging more , could this be because I am getting in lobbies with people who dont have the maps which in turn means people with cheaper internet connections which also means bad hosts

also what is a good ping
"K/D ratio is much truer measure of how long I head glitch behind a ledge with a portable radar"

stetab

Offline toysrme

  • 14 National Championships
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 8290
  • FannyPAX, best avatar EVAAAR!
    • View Profile
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #1 on: 04:25 AM - 07/19/11 »
no, the counter starts at 50ms
Somebody didn't read the rules before posting. You need a post count of 100 500 to talk directly to toys.
[/size]

Offline Gabbagod

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2811
    • View Profile
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #2 on: 04:40 AM - 07/19/11 »
I assume you are playing PC as the 360 doesnt give precise ping results.

80 isnt terrible. 50 would be nice!

Deleted the Stimulas pacakage means you have put yourself back in lobbies with other people who dont have it. That doesnt mean they are going to have cheaper internet connections though.

I find when I have the pacakges installed I get a much worse connections. I guess because It only puts you in a lobby with those with both packages and therefore restricting the matchmaking some what.

In theory more people wont have the packages installed than those that do so you would think there is a better opportunity of getting a decent game as there is a much wider search for players. Anyone disagree?

I noticed Black Ops lag got worse for me since the packages were released. I havent installed any though.

Offline Shrimpanzee

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1367
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Shrimpanzee
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #3 on: 06:59 AM - 07/19/11 »
I assume you are playing PC as the 360 doesnt give precise ping results.

Have you never played MW2 on the 360? It shows a ping counter above the list of players when searching.

Offline Gabbagod

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2811
    • View Profile
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #4 on: 08:29 AM - 07/19/11 »
Have you never played MW2 on the 360? It shows a ping counter above the list of players when searching.

When connecting to a game? Yeah of course! Only takes for a host change to mess that up though!

Offline Shrimpanzee

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1367
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Shrimpanzee
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #5 on: 05:33 PM - 07/19/11 »
Okay, it just seemed like that's what he was asking about.

Anyways, by default on the PC version:

  • 4 bars = 0-100 ping
  • 3 bars = 101-200 ping
  • 2 bars = 201-300 ping
  • 1 bar = 301+ ping

Source: http://slinkydk.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/mw2-online-ping-monitoring/

I'm assuming it would be the same for 360, but there's no guarantee unless someone has examined the files.



« Last Edit: 05:45 PM - 07/19/11 by Shrimpanzee »

Offline SecondSight

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Second Sight 07
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #6 on: 05:54 PM - 07/19/11 »
I normally get a ping of 10 on a good server.

Offline Xenon

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1883
  • Boo!
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Xenonshot
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #7 on: 07:09 PM - 07/19/11 »
mw2 has lag?!?!?!? im sorry i guess ive been on blops to long which is why any other game with a moderately better online gameplay experience makes me nerdgasm.
I rRrRR 133337Zorz

Offline amak1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 5292
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Wa2En5emble
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #8 on: 10:04 PM - 07/19/11 »
Yep been playing modern warfare 2 mostly lately and tried to play blops... if u play blops then do yourself a favor dont play mw2... itll make blops nearly unplayable.
          80 isnt bad prefer below 65 but will definitely take the game at 80... above 100ms i search again.
Ice... 15ml lime cordial... 1 dash angostura bitters... 2 oz 100% agave tequila... top off with sprite or 7 up

Offline ImaNewbie

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 178
    • View Profile
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #9 on: 03:58 AM - 07/20/11 »
Okay, it just seemed like that's what he was asking about.

Anyways, by default on the PC version:

  • 4 bars = 0-100 ping
  • 3 bars = 101-200 ping
  • 2 bars = 201-300 ping
  • 1 bar = 301+ ping

so if you are on a 3 bar there is a second of lag?
Source: http://slinkydk.wordpress.com/2010/01/06/mw2-online-ping-monitoring/

I'm assuming it would be the same for 360, but there's no guarantee unless someone has examined the files.
"K/D ratio is much truer measure of how long I head glitch behind a ledge with a portable radar"

stetab

Offline Bizzar1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1607
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Bizzar1
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #10 on: 10:32 AM - 07/20/11 »
Must be nice. Even with mw2 I have NEVER connected below 100ms. It searches for 150ms ping and then connects hah! Try playing blops on my connection. I'm a 3+ kdr player on a crap connection which leaves me around 1.5-2 from getting CHA-PING'd!! It's soo annoying watching players and thinking to myself "I woulda died there, and there, oh and that kill too. No way can you pull that out on my internet"
"Surely there must be something you can do."
"I'm doing everything I can... and stop calling me Shirley!"

Offline amak1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 5292
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Wa2En5emble
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #11 on: 02:52 PM - 07/20/11 »
No newbie a second of lag=1000ms... sux bizzar is it your ip or are you in a remote area?
Ice... 15ml lime cordial... 1 dash angostura bitters... 2 oz 100% agave tequila... top off with sprite or 7 up

Offline Bizzar1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1607
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Bizzar1
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #12 on: 04:49 PM - 07/20/11 »
Out in the sticks. Our town population is 3200 lol. Closest Walmart is about 40 minutes and an hour to a major city. I have awesome speeds as I'm a city boy in the country and probably the only person online at night in the entire town! It just sucks as the server hops are we Todd Ed and what causes my poor ping. On comcast btw and we just got it out here about 5 years ago. Before this it was dsl and woah, was that horrible.

edit: correction. The head count of "legal" citizens is apx 3200 however, if you add in the ILLEGALS its more like 8-10k. This is a big farming community with mostly Mexican residents who are farmers...and are illegal...and don't speak a lick of English. They pack 3 families in a single wide trailer out here.
« Last Edit: 04:54 PM - 07/20/11 by Bizzar1 »
"Surely there must be something you can do."
"I'm doing everything I can... and stop calling me Shirley!"

Offline amak1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 5292
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Wa2En5emble
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #13 on: 08:16 PM - 07/20/11 »
Three families in a single wide?! Not even a double. Crazy... at least their lawns prolly look fantastic! Jk lol
Ice... 15ml lime cordial... 1 dash angostura bitters... 2 oz 100% agave tequila... top off with sprite or 7 up

Offline Bizzar1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1607
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Bizzar1
Re: MW2 lag question
« Reply #14 on: 08:55 PM - 07/20/11 »
Well if rundown broken cars, lawn chairs and chickens define fantanstic, then yes!!
"Surely there must be something you can do."
"I'm doing everything I can... and stop calling me Shirley!"


Admin