XIM Community

Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...  (Read 5137 times)

Offline rtmoose

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1938
  • yea... its how those frenchies used to say my name
    • View Profile
Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« on: 08:40 AM - 06/09/11 »
So... All the bf3 teases we've had from e3 this past week has got me thinking, and I've come to a few conclusions..

1: I will be playing on PC (building a rig specifically for the game)
2: since it uses the frostbite 2 engine.. The look and feel of the game is pretty close to BC2.. Destructibility is the name of the game.
3: if I start playing in October without any real experience (or habit) of using the destruction to my advantage I will be at a SERIOUS disadvantage to all the BC2 players that move to bf3.
4: Flying a jet or chopper will have the same physics as bf2, and it's like riding a bike, you don't forge how...

To sum up: I have to get back into the battlefield series, relearn the playstyle, look and feel of the engine... So I think I'm hanging up my COD boots, at least for the most part... So when bf3 comes out it will feel like a natural progression to me.

Anyone east/central who plays a lot of bc2 add me: rtmoose I will want to play with people.. Squadplay is the name of the game...

Anyone already on my FL who wants to join me I implore you


LETS DO THIS!!!
Hi, I don't know if this is the right place to write this, my husband Technogiant as gone out of the room, can you send him this xbox thing quickly he's driving me up the wall. thanks

i5-2500k - p8p67 rev3 - radeon HD6850 - 8GB corsair ram @ 1600mhz - WD caviar Black SATA III

Offline ROLL

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 549
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: PlaToad
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #1 on: 08:46 AM - 06/09/11 »
Ragequit.

Offline tuffrabit

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7352
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #2 on: 08:48 AM - 06/09/11 »
If I find a copy of BC2 on the floor or something I'm totally in.


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline Beezles

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 4429
  • TeamEWIX co-leader/founder
    • View Profile
    • Beezles youtube channel
  • Gamertag: BEEZLES
  • PSN ID: BEEZLES
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #3 on: 08:49 AM - 06/09/11 »
i'll probably be playing BF3, but on 360 as i don't have a PC and BF3 won't run on Mac
Logitech G13 w/ modded Thubstick (or PS Nav)  //  Logitech G500 Mouse
XIM3  //  24" Dynex HDTV
Audio Technica AD700 Headset Antlion Modmic  //  Turtle Beach DSS
Avermedia Broadcaster HD

BEEZLES YOUTUBE CHANNEL!!
LIVESTREAM:
[BEEZLES ON TWITCH!]

[TEAMXIM ON TWITCH!]

Offline rtmoose

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1938
  • yea... its how those frenchies used to say my name
    • View Profile
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #4 on: 08:54 AM - 06/09/11 »
U can get it for 20 at ebgames rabbit..

Shut up toad

Beez, don't do it.. Go buy a PC
Hi, I don't know if this is the right place to write this, my husband Technogiant as gone out of the room, can you send him this xbox thing quickly he's driving me up the wall. thanks

i5-2500k - p8p67 rev3 - radeon HD6850 - 8GB corsair ram @ 1600mhz - WD caviar Black SATA III

Offline Beezles

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 4429
  • TeamEWIX co-leader/founder
    • View Profile
    • Beezles youtube channel
  • Gamertag: BEEZLES
  • PSN ID: BEEZLES
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #5 on: 09:01 AM - 06/09/11 »
U can get it for 20 at ebgames rabbit..

Shut up toad

Beez, don't do it.. Go buy a PC

recently got rid of my old PC and bought a mac, no money - besides, that's why i got the xim3, so i won't have to get a PC
Logitech G13 w/ modded Thubstick (or PS Nav)  //  Logitech G500 Mouse
XIM3  //  24" Dynex HDTV
Audio Technica AD700 Headset Antlion Modmic  //  Turtle Beach DSS
Avermedia Broadcaster HD

BEEZLES YOUTUBE CHANNEL!!
LIVESTREAM:
[BEEZLES ON TWITCH!]

[TEAMXIM ON TWITCH!]

Offline asilver

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2817
  • STE4LYOURFACE
    • View Profile
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #6 on: 09:08 AM - 06/09/11 »
Moose, how much do you plan on spending for your bf3 rig? just curious
Dirty Tony De La Nomadz M.C.

cs:go

Offline Hai iRnewHERE

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 495
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Hai iRnewHERE
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #7 on: 09:24 AM - 06/09/11 »
I've been trying to get people to play BC2 with me for over a year.  I've even invited you to a few games moose.  About fukin time. Should be on tonight around 10pm Pacific.

Offline rtmoose

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1938
  • yea... its how those frenchies used to say my name
    • View Profile
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #8 on: 10:03 AM - 06/09/11 »
That's 1am EST brother. I'll watch for you online though..

Umm.. Im gonna price it out but I saw a prebuilt rig with the same specs I want for 1500 (cad) so I can probably do it for 12/13 hundred.

Tbh my primary concern will be load times ... I will be playing on minimum graphics settings w high resolution.. Not one for eye candy.. And I want to be the first one in the game to beat everyone to the jets.. Yea I'm an air whore... So I'll have an SSD for my games for near instant loading
Hi, I don't know if this is the right place to write this, my husband Technogiant as gone out of the room, can you send him this xbox thing quickly he's driving me up the wall. thanks

i5-2500k - p8p67 rev3 - radeon HD6850 - 8GB corsair ram @ 1600mhz - WD caviar Black SATA III

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 54625
    • View Profile
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #9 on: 10:36 AM - 06/09/11 »
I'll be playing on the pc too, if you ever want to meet halfway we can play together in a chicago server. Those are usually good for both west and east players.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline bryangene

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 64
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: XBL: YER DONE S0N (Zero in S0N)
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #10 on: 10:48 AM - 06/09/11 »
Should be playing on PC if you're going for the feel.  Anyone BC2 PC owners who want to play add me on Steam: YER DONE SON ..I kind of go between Black Ops on 360 and BC2 on PC.  PC is just a far better experience for any Battlefield game.

Offline Bizzar1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1607
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Bizzar1
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #11 on: 11:35 AM - 06/09/11 »
Do I need to drag out my x52 and blow the dust off the pc? I quit playing because there was nobody to game with. But I'd be willing to give it another shot.
"Surely there must be something you can do."
"I'm doing everything I can... and stop calling me Shirley!"

Offline CicatrizESP33

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 29
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: CicatrizESP33
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #12 on: 11:52 AM - 06/09/11 »
Figueir2 (sp?) made a post in general about BC2 players maybe a week ago you should check out. I'm not an east coaster but he is however, we play around the same times. We are mostly rush players but we play a little conquest here and there when rush just isn't working for us. We are always looking for decent players that work as a team (especially since E3 and the video of BF3 it seems like there are a ton more noobs playing on our side). Look either of us up: CicatrizESP33 or St3ak and 3ggs



Edit: Went and found the post: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=12541.0
As you can see there wasn't very much support for the idea. Unfortunately, these boards seem to be primarily filled with COD players and so finding BC2 players is fairly rare which is a shame because the game really isn't the same unless you are in a decent squad.
« Last Edit: 11:56 AM - 06/09/11 by CicatrizESP33 »

Offline SecondSight

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1491
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Second Sight 07
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #13 on: 01:35 PM - 06/09/11 »
This thread makes me sad. Kind of destroying the purpose of xim.

Offline Bizzar1

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1607
    • View Profile
  • Gamertag: Bizzar1
Re: Bf3, moose, PC and the frostbite engine...
« Reply #14 on: 01:37 PM - 06/09/11 »
I wont lie, I will own a copy for pc and xbox. Just like cod4, mw2 and blops. Gaming is sooo expensive for me lol. Each time a new game comes out I'm looking at $110-140 because I do like to play both. PC for the sweet ping, larger servers and eye candy, xbox for the friends and no cheats (for the most part).
"Surely there must be something you can do."
"I'm doing everything I can... and stop calling me Shirley!"


Admin