XIM Community

Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work  (Read 4602 times)

Online OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 43510
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« on: 04:04 PM - 03/07/11 »
My new system is ready for building Smart Translators and I'm working on switching over the "Smart Trainer" to using a Black Magic Intensity Shuttle rather a very unreliable Hauppauge HDPVR. However, I'm running into problems.

All the drivers are installed and Iíve updated the NEC USB driver and FW to the recommended BMI versions (took awhile to find the 2.0.4.0 driver Ė had to get that from ASUS Ė it wasnít on the BMI link). When I plug in the Shuttle itís recognized. Xbox HDMI to the Shuttle then HDMI to my TV. When I try to run Media Express to see if itís showing up, itís just a black screen.

Is there anyone with experience with the Shuttle that has run into this same type of problem? If so, any advice?

Thanks.
Get the most out of your XIM NEXUS, read the XIM NEXUS Support FAQ.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58613
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #1 on: 04:16 PM - 03/07/11 »
Make sure your xbox and media express are running at the same resolution and set an appropriate frame rate.

Also, be sure to click the capture button. It's on either playback or master by default, you won't see anything until it's on capture.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58613
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #2 on: 04:18 PM - 03/07/11 »
capture/playback/master

it looks like master will also display a picture.
« Last Edit: 04:26 PM - 03/07/11 by mist4fun »
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Online OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 43510
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #3 on: 04:25 PM - 03/07/11 »
mist, you have a Shuttle? If I had known that I would have IM'd you. :)
Get the most out of your XIM NEXUS, read the XIM NEXUS Support FAQ.

Online OBsIV

  • Administrator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 43510
  • It's obsessive.
    • View Profile
    • OBsIV's Blog
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #4 on: 04:27 PM - 03/07/11 »
The tool doesn't auto-detect the resolution/framerate?
Get the most out of your XIM NEXUS, read the XIM NEXUS Support FAQ.

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58613
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #5 on: 04:30 PM - 03/07/11 »
I use the BMIP, but I also use media express and the black screen was my first problem. No it doesn't auto detect, go to edit->preferences to set up the resolution, framerate, and file format.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline abc123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2958
  • It's as easy as ABC 123
    • View Profile
    • unofficial xim api cloud for configs
  • Gamertag: Dr Donkey Kong
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #6 on: 04:41 PM - 03/07/11 »
You have to set it up in The program and in the control panel for the Black Magic Intensity Pro

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58613
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #7 on: 04:43 PM - 03/07/11 »
You have to set it up in The program and in the control panel for the Black Magic Intensity Pro

I don't know of a bmip control panel. Inputing the correct settings in media express is all that I needed to do.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline abc123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2958
  • It's as easy as ABC 123
    • View Profile
    • unofficial xim api cloud for configs
  • Gamertag: Dr Donkey Kong
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #8 on: 05:22 PM - 03/07/11 »
I don't know of a bmip control panel. Inputing the correct settings in media express is all that I needed to do.

I don't own the shuttle but for the BMIP I had to go to Control Panel and then the Black Magic Panel and edit the settings, and then also do it in the Black Magic Capture Program, before i got a picture.  I was thinking I had a broken card then bam working like magic.

Offline Boddiebagger

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 914
  • The Original KWAK'er
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #9 on: 06:06 PM - 03/07/11 »
<---BMIP user.

When I had some issues i had to find the control panel in the installation folder. There wasn't any shortcuts made to find it easier. Don't know if that helps.

What boddiebagger calls losing a gun fight means, killing the opposing team 3 times over and dying once.

Offline blackopsguy

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 511
  • Electrical/Software Engineer
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #10 on: 06:10 PM - 03/07/11 »
I find that this thread is pretty useful for other users who need a tutorial like this.

however, this thread is about Shuttle unless the BMIP and Shuttle are using the same software.

I am going to build a custom machine for BMIP/Shuttle in few months later since I have been using laptop. I really want to capture some videos to show off.
a proud owner of a XIM2, XIM3, and XIM Edge
---------------------------------
- Mouse:        Steelseries XAI Laser
- Keyboard:    Das Keyboard Model "S" Ulimate Silent
- MouseMat:   Puretrak Talent
- Monitor:      Asus 23" HDMI Monitor (VH236H)

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58613
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #11 on: 06:27 PM - 03/07/11 »
They both use media express.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline abc123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2958
  • It's as easy as ABC 123
    • View Profile
    • unofficial xim api cloud for configs
  • Gamertag: Dr Donkey Kong
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #12 on: 07:40 PM - 03/07/11 »
Everything you need for BMIP 1080i xbox 1080p video capture setup

Offline mist4fun

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 58613
    • View Profile
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #13 on: 07:41 PM - 03/07/11 »
Why choose interlaced over progressive? 720p is a much better choice.
Have a problem with your XIM APEX? Find a solution in the XIM APEX Support FAQ
XIM APEX Quick Start Guide   |   XIM Instructional Videos

Offline abc123

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 2958
  • It's as easy as ABC 123
    • View Profile
    • unofficial xim api cloud for configs
  • Gamertag: Dr Donkey Kong
Re: Trying to get Intensity Shuttle to work
« Reply #14 on: 07:44 PM - 03/07/11 »
Why choose interlaced over progressive? 720p is a much better choice.

you are correct, I have a 1080p 120hz lcd and it auto choose and this is the first time i've even thought about you.  I love you.