XIM Community

General Category => Feedback => Topic started by: matthewtas on 08:20 PM - 05/15/19

Title: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: matthewtas on 08:20 PM - 05/15/19
Is it possible to add a feature to restart the xim without removing it from the console? Its sort of annoying having to go to my xbox whenever I change hz or have to restart it for some reason and it would reduce the wear from unplugging and plugging it back in alot. I can understand if its not possible just an idea that I think would be helpful!
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: ceebs on 02:15 AM - 05/16/19
Or you could just buy an in-line switch (https://www.amazon.co.uk/TOOGOO-Female-Extension-Cable-Switch-black/dp/B07F7Q46CX/ref=pd_lpo_vtph_107_lp_tr_t_2?_encoding=UTF8&psc=1&refRID=W626CDGECPSHNS65ZWYM)?
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: antithesis on 06:01 PM - 05/16/19
That cable has no data lines, it's power only. I sell similar cables with data lines and they're harder to find.
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: ceebs on 03:05 AM - 05/30/19
Well spotted, young man. In that case, I'd suggest one of these (https://www.amazon.co.uk/Aussel-Portable-Adapter-Notebook-Computer/dp/B016HH3DXK/ref=sr_1_4?keywords=usb+2.0+switch+data+-3.0+-3&qid=1559206525&s=gateway&sr=8-4), unless OP is Australian, in which case he should buy one of these (https://modsquad.com.au/product/data-power-switch-usb-extension-cable/). 
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: antithesis on 05:07 PM - 05/30/19
Lol.

BTW, I'm almost finished the new site. The current one isn't my best work, I had to rush it up in time for Xmas and used a *gag* template for the job. Horrible, horrible code. The new site is hand-crafted and is a vast improvement :) I'm hoping to launch it in a few days.
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: Od1n on 07:24 PM - 05/30/19
Lol.

BTW, I'm almost finished the new site. The current one isn't my best work, I had to rush it up in time for Xmas and used a *gag* template for the job. Horrible, horrible code. The new site is hand-crafted and is a vast improvement :) I'm hoping to launch it in a few days.

wait you think it looks bad?
i really like the design, curious to see how much better it can get now lol!
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: antithesis on 12:38 AM - 05/31/19
It's baaaaaaad. Lots of code bloat, terrible theme templates, bland design and dirty hacks by the dozen to get it working properly.

Never use a prebuilt theme in WordPress, it's just asking for trouble. They're always poorly built, hard to customise and break expected functionality. Unfortunately I had little choice at the time - I was waiting for the release of WordPress 5 and WooCommerce 3.5, but it dragged on too long and I needed a site in December.

Here's a couple of (compressed) screenies of the new site - https://imgur.com/a/v218Vem. This one I've built myself from scratch, which takes quite a bit longer with better results. The basic format is similar, but it's cleaner, brighter and more interactive. The site looks equally good on tablet and smartphone, unlike the current site.

Each platform has its own hero header and colour scheme (all other pages have purple headers). Product Finder is active in the PS4 image (the filter is Category = Mouse & Keyboard + Brand = XIM). Product Search is active on XB1 (search is XIM).

I'm down to the single product templates, then I need to add dozens of new products. It should be good to go next week. It's a lot more scalable too - I'll be adding video games and PC gear in the near future, which will flesh out the product catalogue into the hundreds.

There's also an Affiliate section coming to help Aussie Twitch streamers / YouTubers earn a little dough, as well as Blog stuff, which will lead into YouTube video production...big plans and lots of work to do. No time for gaming or streaming lately, that'll start up again once I nail down these last few bits of the new site.

Sorry for derailing the thread!
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: ceebs on 02:01 AM - 05/31/19
Glad you decided to keep the clean look. Looks very professional.

Shame you don't ship to the UK: I'd buy some stuff just to support you. I know how tough it can be to start up a new business.
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: Od1n on 09:44 AM - 05/31/19
wow that looks clean! If i ever have to create a webstore ill have to hire you as a consultant haha!
Also already wondered about your streaming schedule, ive left a follow a while ago but you didnt popup in the online list so far ;).
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: antithesis on 01:54 PM - 05/31/19
Thanks gents. My background is user experience design, so clean, simple, functional, accessible and fast has always my methodology. I've done everything myself, apart from the logo animation.

It's important to be mobile-friendly as over half of web traffic is via smartphones these days. That comes with limitations on design and it's best to stick to the grid for broadest compatibility (mobile-first design).

I noticed you dropped a follow recently Od1n, thanks :) At this point it's food before fun and short-term pain for long-term gain. The new site is likely to double business, but i'll get back to streaming asap as it also lifts sales.

Onwards and upwards, I'll post a thread when the site goes live.
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: b00st_g0d on 10:30 AM - 06/01/19
Lol.

BTW, I'm almost finished the new site. The current one isn't my best work, I had to rush it up in time for Xmas and used a *gag* template for the job. Horrible, horrible code. The new site is hand-crafted and is a vast improvement :) I'm hoping to launch it in a few days.

wait you think it looks bad?
i really like the design, curious to see how much better it can get now lol!
Same, he's too picky.  ;)  The new coded site imgs look awesome.
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: b00st_g0d on 10:32 AM - 06/01/19
That cable has no data lines, it's power only. I sell similar cables with data lines and they're harder to find.

What about this one for US users?
https://www.amazon.com/HENGSHENG-Adapter-Switch-Upgraded-Extension-Recorder/dp/B07QTJZD99/ref=sr_1_3?keywords=data+and+power+usb+on+off+cable&qid=1559406548&s=gateway&sr=8-3
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: antithesis on 03:36 PM - 06/01/19
That'll work fine boost, but note that it's 2ft long. Not a big deal, it's just a longer cable :)

Same, he's too picky.   The new coded site imgs look awesome.
I've been building ecommerce sites for over 20 years, there are standards to uphold ;) The new site's much better, I'll be a pig in poo once it goes live.

I'm down to adding content to a column on the product page and tweaking the checkout for conversion optimisation. The current site converts at 5% (very good for ecom), but the new one should beat that handsomely. The biggest challenge is condensing content into bite-sized chunks, especially for mobile.
Title: Would it be possible to add a reset feature
Post by: Normadah on 06:44 AM - 08/18/19
This suggestion is self-explanatory. It seems like any forum Ive been to besides SJ has one of these. I would like to introduce myself to other members and Im sure everyone else would too.
Thanks.

(https://img.torrent-katochka.com/swords-ditto.php?img.jpg) (https://torrent-katochka.com/rpg/swords-ditto) ;-)
Title: Would it be possible to add a reset feature
Post by: Normadah on 06:45 AM - 08/18/19
This suggestion is self-explanatory. It seems like any forum Ive been to besides SJ has one of these. I would like to introduce myself to other members and Im sure everyone else would too.
Thanks.

(https://img.torrent-katochka.com/swords-ditto.php?img.jpg) (https://torrent-katochka.com/rpg/swords-ditto) ;-)
Title: Re: Would it be possible to add a reset feature?
Post by: Normadah on 06:46 AM - 08/18/19
This suggestion is self-explanatory. It seems like any forum Ive been to besides SJ has one of these. I would like to introduce myself to other members and Im sure everyone else would too.
Thanks.

(https://img.torrent-katochka.com/swords-ditto.php?img.jpg) (https://torrent-katochka.com/rpg/swords-ditto) ;-)