XIM Community

XIM APEX => XIM APEX Discussions => Topic started by: Easymodeonex on 04:00 PM - 03/01/18

Title: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: Easymodeonex on 04:00 PM - 03/01/18
I have seen this one https://www.amazon.co.uk/UGREEN-Sharing-Keyboard-Scanner-Printer/dp/B01N6GD9JO/ref=sr_1_3?ie=UTF8&qid=1519932585&sr=8-3&keywords=usb+switcher

Need help as apex is arriving Monday or it's a 2 kb/m set up on my desk

Also with the inputs being put into the 1 output doesn't that mess with the com apex hub or can the hub read both inputs via the one cable?

Many thanks

Please post what you guys use to help guide my decision
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: Easymodeonex on 06:32 PM - 03/01/18
Heading to bed so quick bump will check back in the morning
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: antithesis on 07:15 PM - 03/01/18
IOGear GUS404 or GUS402 are rock-solid. They're rebranded as Aten US424 and US224 in other regions.
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: SfcoAwol on 07:48 PM - 03/01/18
Quote
IOGear GUS404 or GUS402 are rock-solid. They're rebranded as Aten US424 and US224 in other regions.
Thanks allot for that last bit of info! I was looking for a gus404, turned out I was able to snag a used US424 for $20 free shipping! only question is would this switcher be considered a powered hub considering it has the 5v in usb?
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: antithesis on 07:50 PM - 03/01/18
Yeah it is optionally powered. The switch has a 5V USB port, but you don't need to use it.

I connect my 2 x GUS404 via micro USB to USB cables to old iPhone chargers to power my Xim setup.

IMHO, it's a better solution than a powered USB hub, with more versatility.
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: SfcoAwol on 07:56 PM - 03/01/18
Awesome! that will be a big help since I'm going to be running through 15ft usb, now to actually get the apex and a hdmi switcher so I can play on my desktop! Thanks again!
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: antithesis on 07:59 PM - 03/01/18
15ft is pushing it, you're likely to experience some degradation.

I had an active 15ft cable on my old setup and for the most part it worked fine. But if my controller was undercharged, it'd crash the Xim.

I'm using a 10ft passive USB cable now with no problems.
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: Clu on 08:30 PM - 03/01/18
Why is it set up 15ft away? I use the GCS22U by KVM and cut off the VGA adapter with scissors and only use the USB part
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: SfcoAwol on 08:34 PM - 03/01/18
Quote
15ft is pushing it, you're likely to experience some degradation.

I had an active 15ft cable on my old setup and for the most part it worked fine. But if my controller was undercharged, it'd crash the Xim.

I'm using a 10ft passive USB cable now with no problems.

so I've been investigating it a little more and I'm thinking something like this might be more what I need they claim with these active repeaters they can run past 50ft, my only question is would this add latency?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/16ft-5M-USB-2-0-A-Male-to-Female-Active-Extension-Repeater-Cable-Kinect-PS4-US/382159933701?epid=1739304822&hash=item58fa81d105:g:sm4AAOSwWdZZY~7T#
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: SfcoAwol on 08:37 PM - 03/01/18
Quote
Why is it set up 15ft away? I use the GCS22U by KVM and cut off the VGA adapter with scissors and only use the USB part

well it's setup 15ft away because my pc is located across the room from my ps4 because the ps4 is hooked up to my tv as its our only way of watching movies and streaming on the tv   
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: FortyOne on 08:37 PM - 03/01/18
Quote
15ft is pushing it, you're likely to experience some degradation.

I had an active 15ft cable on my old setup and for the most part it worked fine. But if my controller was undercharged, it'd crash the Xim.

I'm using a 10ft passive USB cable now with no problems.

so I've been investigating it a little more and I'm thinking something like this might be more what I need they claim with these active repeaters they can run past 50ft, my only question is would this add latency?

https://www.ebay.com/itm/16ft-5M-USB-2-0-A-Male-to-Female-Active-Extension-Repeater-Cable-Kinect-PS4-US/382159933701?epid=1739304822&hash=item58fa81d105:g:sm4AAOSwWdZZY~7T#

Latency no.  Latency is never really the issue.  Power requierments is.  a powered hub will most likely be required.  I used to use a 39 active repetaer cable and it worked fine with a powered hub.
Title: Re: Which usb switch for apex?
Post by: antithesis on 08:37 PM - 03/01/18
That's pretty much what I had.

Shorter cables are better, but that's more a power supply than lag issue.