XIM Community

General Category => Tutorials => Topic started by: calculus on 12:51 PM - 11/26/17

Title: How to avoid pressing two buttons simultaneously for one function
Post by: calculus on 12:51 PM - 11/26/17
When playing Star Wars Battlefront 2 on PS4, I press L1 and R1 simultaneously to activate my top ability.  With the XIM4, is there any way I can press one button on the keyboard for the ability?  I have 1 for L1 and 3 for R1, so instead of pressing 1 and 3 simultaneously, can I press something like 2 instead?
Title: Re: How to avoid pressing two buttons simultaneously for one function
Post by: OBsIV on 04:08 PM - 11/26/17
Welcome to the community. The only way to accomplish this with XIM4 is to bind multiple buttons to a single key (using "Secondary" key bindings), but, you'd probably want to retain the ability to press R1 and L1 separately as well. So, I'm not sure if there is really a good solution for your scenario.
Title: Re: How to avoid pressing two buttons simultaneously for one function
Post by: antithesis on 04:10 PM - 11/26/17
Primary bind L1 to 1. Primary bind R1 to 3.
Secondary bind L1 to 2. Secondary bind R1 to 2.
Problem solved :)
Title: Re: How to avoid pressing two buttons simultaneously for one function
Post by: OBsIV on 04:17 PM - 11/26/17
Primary bind L1 to 1. Primary bind R1 to 3.
Secondary bind L1 to 2. Secondary bind R1 to 2.
Problem solved :)

Yes, that will work, nice. :)

(Funny how the person that created XIM didn't think of that. :D )
Title: Re: How to avoid pressing two buttons simultaneously for one function
Post by: calculus on 04:15 PM - 11/28/17
Thank you so much.  I tried it last night, and it worked perfectly.  Much appreciated. 
Title: Re: How to avoid pressing two buttons simultaneously for one function
Post by: CrystalChills00 on 08:07 PM - 11/29/17
How do you primary bind though on xim4?
Title: Re: How to avoid pressing two buttons simultaneously for one function
Post by: ceebs on 09:57 AM - 11/30/17
Primary bind L1 to 1. Primary bind R1 to 3.
Secondary bind L1 to 2. Secondary bind R1 to 2.
Problem solved :)

Yes, that will work, nice. :)

(Funny how the person that created XIM didn't think of that. :D )

lol! I honestly thought that was why you designed secondary buttons the way you did!