XIM Community

XIM APEX => Game Support => Topic started by: KJabs on 12:21 PM - 07/17/14

Title: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: KJabs on 12:21 PM - 07/17/14
I'm not sure if the two units are using the same smart translators, but will there be a way to import your settings from XIM3 to XIM4 so that you don't have to recreate them all?  I understand that playing the same game on different systems (Xbox 360 to Xbox One for example) will probably require starting over, but what if I want to use the XIM4 on my Xbox 360 with all of my old configs?
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: mist4fun on 01:44 PM - 07/17/14
There will be no import system like that. XIM4 will use the same  smart translators for previous gen, new STs for current gen. I suggest writing down your binds and sensitivity values to make the transition easier.
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: roads on 02:38 PM - 07/17/14
With normalisation of buttons and sens you will only need to do this for one game. :D
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: mist4fun on 02:58 PM - 07/17/14
Let's not confuse him though, what roads suggested isn't possible with XIM4 at the moment.
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: KJabs on 04:37 AM - 07/18/14
Fair enough, as long as the values will be the same from one to the other I don't mind transferring them manually.  Especially since I can just pull up the Xim3 manager on my computer right next to the Xim4 manager....


I'm interested in what roads was talking about though, it must be something I missed in the "coming soon" features??
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: roads on 05:41 AM - 07/18/14
Oh interesting, right? check this

http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=33299.msg430156#msg430156

feel free to comment
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: KJabs on 02:40 AM - 08/03/14
So okay, although there's no "import" option, will things translate exactly?

For example, if I used 50 sensitivity for my mouse on COD Ghosts on Xbox 360, will it also be 50 sensitivity on the Xbox One?  Or, are things different between generations?  Nobody answered my question from the previous post

Fair enough, as long as the values will be the same from one to the other I don't mind transferring them manually.  Especially since I can just pull up the Xim3 manager on my computer right next to the Xim4 manager....

Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: KJabs on 03:53 PM - 08/04/14
Bump!!  Need an answer, as my XIM is being delivered today!
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: Makave22 on 06:00 PM - 08/04/14
I wish someone would post an answer soon. I got the Xim4 today but I'm just not "feeling it". If anyone knows a way that would be awesome.
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: Aiken_Drum on 08:07 PM - 08/04/14
For example, if I used 50 sensitivity for my mouse on COD Ghosts on Xbox 360, will it also be 50 sensitivity on the Xbox One?  Or, are things different between generations?  Nobody answered my question from the previous post
I've seen Mist say that there is often some significant modification done to the game's input scheme when porting to another platform or generation.  It's possible that the XIM's ST is the same for two generations (e.g. 360/One), but because the physical controller works differently under the hood, the chances are good that they are actually different.  You'll want to do fresh fine-tuning when you make that leap.  I'm sure you can start with your current settings and go from there, though.
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: KJabs on 11:37 PM - 08/04/14
I can report with certainty that from COD Ghosts Xbox 360 XIM3 to COD Ghosts Xbox One XIM4, my sensitivity settings are DEFINITELY different.

I have not yet tried COD Ghosts Xbox 360 with the XIM4 though.  I may never try it, since I'm keeping my XIM3 ... but I do want to, because science.
Title: Re: XIM3 to XIM4 Smart Translator Migration/Import?
Post by: Makave22 on 05:49 PM - 08/05/14
I can report with certainty that from COD Ghosts Xbox 360 XIM3 to COD Ghosts Xbox One XIM4, my sensitivity settings are DEFINITELY different.

I have not yet tried COD Ghosts Xbox 360 with the XIM4 though.  I may never try it, since I'm keeping my XIM3 ... but I do want to, because science.

Let me know if you got something.