XIM Community

Miscellaneous => XIM EDGE => Legacy Devices => XIM EDGE Discussions => Topic started by: AFF on 08:09 AM - 08/07/12

Title: PS3 Controller
Post by: AFF on 08:09 AM - 08/07/12
It might be asked already

but i hate the xbox controller for Fifa and want to use a PS3 one

now can i do this with XIM Edge

thanks
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: OBsIV on 08:29 AM - 08/07/12
Hi, simply plug your PS3 controller in instead of your mouse and keyboard. Your PS3 controller will be treated as a joystick and you bind buttons normally.

Make sure your Xbox controller is still plugged in as it normally would be.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: pdogg6 on 08:33 AM - 08/07/12
I didn't think about using it that way.  Sweet feature!
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: AFF on 08:48 AM - 08/07/12
Well i loved my XIM3 but had to sell it as had a baby but now have time and just ordered again :)
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: He4DHuNt3r on 09:33 AM - 08/07/12
OBsIV

I heard you will be adding bluetooth support for the Sony Nav, Would that work with the PS3 controller as well since they are basically the same?
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: Johnny on 10:53 AM - 08/07/12
Going to ask this today but good that AFF asked it already. My uncle would like to play with me in my xbox using his ps3 controller though and didn't know that it's going to work that way. Anyway, great feature for XIM.

Thanks.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: OBsIV on 11:29 AM - 08/07/12
OBsIV

I heard you will be adding bluetooth support for the Sony Nav, Would that work with the PS3 controller as well since they are basically the same?

I don't know yet. I'll need to talk to Orbital. Probably yes, but, I wonder about the other thumbstick.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 11:10 AM - 09/08/12
Not to necro this too badly, but, it doesn't seem to be working for me... the sticks don't work, but buttons bind beautifully!

Am I doing something wrong, or am I missing anything?

Just plug them in, bind keys, and go... but what do I do about the analog sticks?
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: OBsIV on 11:14 AM - 09/08/12
Tell us what you have plugged in each port?
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 11:42 AM - 09/08/12
Xbox left port, ps3 right, middle empty.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: Johnny on 11:50 AM - 09/08/12
Mine work perfectly. Just make sure that youre running the right config for your PS3 controller.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 12:13 PM - 09/08/12
Mine work perfectly. Just make sure that youre running the right config for your PS3 controller.

Was trying out black ops... Had black ops st on for xbox as default. Xbox controller worked just fine. Do I need to set it in manager? Everything except the sticks worked great, like I said...
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: ak-xs on 01:04 AM - 09/09/12
OBsIV

I heard you will be adding bluetooth support for the Sony Nav, Would that work with the PS3 controller as well since they are basically the same?

I don't know yet. I'll need to talk to Orbital. Probably yes, but, I wonder about the other thumbstick.

you do realize that you can upgrade your product with another feature specially for PS3 owners right?

using the Nav+DS3+BTmouse in the ximEdge would mean a FULL WIRELESS SETUP because as is is the controller still needs to be wired in.. even xbox owners could benefit for wireless gamepad on the XIM  needs
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 05:52 AM - 09/09/12
OBsIV

I heard you will be adding bluetooth support for the Sony Nav, Would that work with the PS3 controller as well since they are basically the same?

I don't know yet. I'll need to talk to Orbital. Probably yes, but, I wonder about the other thumbstick.

you do realize that you can upgrade your product with another feature specially for PS3 owners right?

using the Nav+DS3+BTmouse in the ximEdge would mean a FULL WIRELESS SETUP because as is is the controller still needs to be wired in.. even xbox owners could benefit for wireless gamepad on the XIM  needs

You do realize that has nothing to do with what we are talking about? :D I'm talking about using the ds3 on xbox, and the sticks not working...

But that is very good info tho!
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: OBsIV on 09:45 AM - 09/09/12
Do you have anything else plugged into your Edge other than that second controller? It sounds like the sticks are being overridden by another device.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 01:49 PM - 09/09/12
Do you have anything else plugged into your Edge other than that second controller? It sounds like the sticks are being overridden by another device.

No sir. Xbox controller and ps3 controller, that's it. Also the xim and xbox controller never power off, and the ps3 controller never shows it turning on, even tho the buttons work.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: Johnny on 03:38 PM - 09/09/12
Mine work perfectly. Just make sure that youre running the right config for your PS3 controller.

Was trying out black ops... Had black ops st on for xbox as default. Xbox controller worked just fine. Do I need to set it in manager? Everything except the sticks worked great, like I said...

I think, I just found the problem. Are you using an Xbox config for this? If so, that's the problem. You should choose the option for PS3 (so, you'll see the PS3 config) and not the Xbox.
If my thought is right, or not, just let me know so I can try to help you, man.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 06:35 PM - 09/09/12
Mine work perfectly. Just make sure that youre running the right config for your PS3 controller.

Was trying out black ops... Had black ops st on for xbox as default. Xbox controller worked just fine. Do I need to set it in manager? Everything except the sticks worked great, like I said...

I think, I just found the problem. Are you using an Xbox config for this? If so, that's the problem. You should choose the option for PS3 (so, you'll see the PS3 config) and not the Xbox.
If my thought is right, or not, just let me know so I can try to help you, man.

Oh ok... Yeah I put the xbox config on, as I'm using the xbox... I'll try and switch it to ps3 and see if that works. Just asking tho, does that throw off the translation? It does for the mouse when you use the wrong config...
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: OBsIV on 06:51 PM - 09/09/12
Oh, are you setting the left-stick to "Analog (Joystick)"?
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 07:23 PM - 09/09/12
Oh, are you setting the left-stick to "Analog (Joystick)"?

No... All I did was put the blops st on the xbox one by default, plugged in the ps3 controller, mapped the buttons in game, and realised the sticks didn't work.

Do I need to do that or something similar?
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: OBsIV on 07:25 PM - 09/09/12
Yeah you do. You need to tell Edge you are using a Joystick (which the controller is). I'll need to document that.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 08:05 PM - 09/09/12
Yeah you do. You need to tell Edge you are using a Joystick (which the controller is). I'll need to document that.

What about the translator? Does it matter which one is on?
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: ak-xs on 08:17 PM - 09/09/12
Yeah you do. You need to tell Edge you are using a Joystick (which the controller is). I'll need to document that.

What about the translator? Does it matter which one is on?

it does but only for accuracy. both should work. let OBsIV do his thing, he'll help you soon
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: OBsIV on 08:39 PM - 09/09/12
Yeah you do. You need to tell Edge you are using a Joystick (which the controller is). I'll need to document that.

What about the translator? Does it matter which one is on?

No, it can be any one you want since you aren't using a mouse.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 02:46 AM - 09/10/12
Awesome, thanks! I'll give it a whirl when I get a chance... Like I said, I hate the xbox controller for non fps games... Too bad the only xbox game I have right now is blops... So using a controller isn't my first choice, but when I get others, it'll be nice to know it works!
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: Johnny on 09:34 AM - 09/10/12
Oh ok... Yeah I put the xbox config on, as I'm using the xbox... I'll try and switch it to ps3 and see if that works. Just asking tho, does that throw off the translation? It does for the mouse when you use the wrong config...

Ok, then that's the problem. Just change the controller config to PS3.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 02:58 PM - 09/10/12
Oh ok... Yeah I put the xbox config on, as I'm using the xbox... I'll try and switch it to ps3 and see if that works. Just asking tho, does that throw off the translation? It does for the mouse when you use the wrong config...

Ok, then that's the problem. Just change the controller config to PS3.

Thanks for the help, johnny! I appreciate it, and see above! Config is meaningless if not using a mouse! :D
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: Johnny on 03:13 PM - 09/10/12
No prob, mate.
Title: Re: PS3 Controller
Post by: JerginsSoft on 04:20 PM - 09/13/12
Just an update: works really well, and I was forced to use a controller today because my wife stole my mouse. <beastmode>I</beastmode> had some good games thanks to the familiarity of the ps3 controller.