XIM Community

General Category => Support => Topic started by: SILENT TRIGGER on 07:05 AM - 03/10/09

Title: the old USB 1.0 for connectin XIM please help
Post by: SILENT TRIGGER on 07:05 AM - 03/10/09
Hello,
can you tell me whether you xim also connect with a pc if the pc is an old pc still has 1.0 usb.
new pcs have usb 2.0 but
my old pc from 1999  8) still has the old usb port.
I have to buy a new pc to use xim or can i connect xim whit the old pc?
my operating system is Windows XP (Service Pack 3)
thanks for the reply
PS:
My xim is not here yet, so I can not even try this
(sry for my bad english  ;) )
greetz Saskia
Title: Re: the old USB 1.0 for connectin XIM please help
Post by: Snow on 09:31 AM - 03/10/09
Good question. Well, I know that the microcontroller on the XIM is 2.0 compliant. AFAIK, it should work with 1.1. However, the data will be at 1.1 speeds, if it does work. In the case of the XIM that shouldn't be an issue, since the data that goes to the XIM is minimal. Bandwidth wouldn't matter either. I could be wrong about that though, I don't know much beyond general about USB ports. Worse comes to worse, go to Radio Shack or a computer parts store and pick up a USB 2.0 PCI card. If your old rig runs Winxp, then it should be up to date enough to run USB 2.0. So, no matter what, unless you don't have an available PCI slot on your machine, you won't have to buy a new PC.
Title: Re: the old USB 1.0 for connectin XIM please help
Post by: SILENT TRIGGER on 01:37 PM - 03/10/09
thanks for answer
is that the right item?

http://cgi.ebay.de/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=150328892692&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fshop.ebay.de%3A80%2F%3F_from%3DR40%26_trksid%3Dm38%26_nkw%3D150328892692%26_fvi%3D1&_rdc=1

well, I also have a new pc, a laptop with vista, but when I sit at the xobx then my man uses the laptop because I've filled the tv  ;)
I had a question to me now to purchase an old pc which I then installed xp.

greetz

Title: Re: the old USB 1.0 for connectin XIM please help
Post by: tweak on 04:24 PM - 03/10/09
Die Karte soll perfect mit XIM funktionieren.
Title: Re: the old USB 1.0 for connectin XIM please help
Post by: Snow on 10:30 PM - 03/10/09
As Tweak sez, that will work quite well. :) Even, I want that card now lol. Having an internal USB jack is also a bonus on that card.

Sigh, wish there would be a Frisian or two posting here, then I could respond in Frisian. :P I could write a little in German, but I have a lot of learning that language left to do.
Title: Re: the old USB 1.0 for connectin XIM please help
Post by: SILENT TRIGGER on 09:31 AM - 03/12/09
it works great  :)
but works the XIM360install-r091108b.exe only with xim2 or can i use this new software with xim1 to?
at time i have installed XIMinstall-r10262007.exe
thanks for help

greetz from germany
Title: Re: the old USB 1.0 for connectin XIM please help
Post by: CEOrko on 02:00 PM - 03/12/09
The newer software at http://xim360.com/?page_id=8 is meant for the XIM2 only. XIM_r10262007.exe and XAE-ME will both work with the XIM1.