XIM Community

Max dpi xim4/apex?  (Read 1974 times)

Offline LilJs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Max dpi xim4/apex?
« on: 01:55 AM - 02/13/18 »
I just watched OBIVS video about xim4 apex and how to turn it, same thing as xim4 just different divine.. Anyway he mentioned that you should always run max dpi on your mouse, ve been playing with 3.2k Dpi on my G900 wireless mice for almost a year now (I got told 3.2k was the best bet for this mice) but I see it has to be the highest possible (12k for me) should I switch it or not??

Online antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 4847
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #1 on: 02:50 AM - 02/13/18 »
It doesn't have to be the highest DPI of your mouse, that's just what OBsIV is recommending. Some of the alpha testers, myself included, have been playing at around 3000 to 4000 DPI with no problems.

All you need to worry about is the minimum DPI that will be viable at 1000Hz polling. For Apex, that's around 3000DPI to ensure you don't hit the sensitivity cap of 500.

Keep in mind that Xim4 sens values need to be multiplied by 8 when using 1000Hz on Apex. For example, if you're running 50 HIP on Xim4, that's 400 HIP on Apex @ 1000Hz.

Offline LilJs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #2 on: 02:58 AM - 02/13/18 »
It doesn't have to be the highest DPI of your mouse, that's just what OBsIV is recommending. Some of the alpha testers, myself included, have been playing at around 3000 to 4000 DPI with no problems.

All you need to worry about is the minimum DPI that will be viable at 1000Hz polling. For Apex, that's around 3000DPI to ensure you don't hit the sensitivity cap of 500.

Keep in mind that Xim4 sens values need to be multiplied by 8 when using 1000Hz on Apex. For example, if you're running 50 HIP on Xim4, that's 400 HIP on Apex @ 1000Hz.

Hmm okay, actually I'm running a Xim4 with a G900 wireless mouse at 3200DPI, I play Rainbow Six Siege, I'm looking for the most precise thing ever. My hip is like 110 and my ADS is 25.
Do you think those settings are fine or should I decrease Hip and ADS by increasing dpi?

*second/general question* is there any recommendation cap for hip? Like I'm pretty sure it's not right to use 1000DPI and like 500hip.. When you could easily raise your dpi...

Online antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 4847
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #3 on: 03:29 AM - 02/13/18 »
If you're running 110 HIP on Xim4 @ 3200 DPI, you're either going to need to increase DPI or drop HIP sensitivity. That 110 HIP equates to 880 on Apex, which simply isn't possible due to the hard cap of 500.

To use the same settings, you'll need to bump DPI to 6400. Either that or just run the Apex at 500Hz. That way you'll only need to multiply your Xim4 settings by 4 and you'll sneak under the 500 cap for HIP with a value of 440 HIP.

Here's the basic conversion math -

Xim4 running at 125Hz
Xim Apex running at 1000Hz.
1000/125 = 8
Multiply all Xim4 sensitivity values by 8
110 x 8 = 880. That's above the 500 cap and won't work.

or

Xim4 running at 125Hz
Xim Apex running at 500Hz
500/15 = 4
Multiply all Xim4 sensitivity values by 4
110 x 4 = 440. That'll work, it's below 500.

or

Xim4 running at 125Hz
Xim Apex running at 250Hz
250/125 = 2
Multiply all Xim4 sensitivity values by 2
110 x 2 = 220. Way below the cap, no problems at all.

Offline ceebs

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 583
  • Captain_Minxley
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: Captain_Minxley
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #4 on: 03:46 AM - 02/13/18 »

Here's the basic conversion math -

Xim4 running at 125Hz
Xim Apex running at 1000Hz.
1000/125 = 8
Multiply all Xim4 sensitivity values by 8
110 x 8 = 880. That's above the 500 cap and won't work.

or

Xim4 running at 125Hz
Xim Apex running at 500Hz
500/15 = 4
Multiply all Xim4 sensitivity values by 4
110 x 4 = 440. That'll work, it's below 500.

or

Xim4 running at 125Hz
Xim Apex running at 250Hz
250/125 = 2
Multiply all Xim4 sensitivity values by 2
110 x 2 = 220. Way below the cap, no problems at all.

Very useful. This should be stickied when the APEX becomes available.
Where's Half-Life 3?


XIM Apex, PS4 Pro, Allreli T9+, Swiftpoint Z, CM Swift-RX XL, Audio Technica ATH AD700, MixAmp Pro, LG 27UD58.

MSI Z97i Gaming AC, Intel Core i5 4690k@4.2GHz, Corsair H100i, EVGA GTX780, 16gb G-Skill RipjawsX@2000MHz, XFX ProSeries (Black Edition) 750w, 3xAerocool Dead Silence, Cooltek W1, 3xSamsung Evo 500 SSD, WD 1TB HDD, Silverstone SST slot-load DVD, KustomPC braided cables.

And if you've read this far, you too are a genuine geek, my friend!

Offline LilJs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #5 on: 11:01 AM - 02/13/18 »
If you're running 110 HIP on Xim4 @ 3200 DPI, you're either going to need to increase DPI or drop HIP sensitivity. That 110 HIP equates to 880 on Apex, which simply isn't possible due to the hard cap of 500.

To use the same settings, you'll need to bump DPI to 6400. Either that or just run the Apex at 500Hz. That way you'll only need to multiply your Xim4 settings by 4 and you'll sneak under the 500 cap for HIP with a value of 440 HIP.

Here's the basic conversion math -

Xim4 running at 125Hz
Xim Apex running at 1000Hz.
1000/125 = 8
Multiply all Xim4 sensitivity values by 8
110 x 8 = 880. That's above the 500 cap and won't work.

or

Xim4 running at 125Hz
Xim Apex running at 500Hz
500/15 = 4
Multiply all Xim4 sensitivity values by 4
110 x 4 = 440. That'll work, it's below 500.

or

Xim4 running at 125Hz
Xim Apex running at 250Hz
250/125 = 2
Multiply all Xim4 sensitivity values by 2
110 x 2 = 220. Way below the cap, no problems at all.
Very nice indeed, but what about my sens on my current xim4? Is it OK 110HIP@HIP or should I should I use 55HIP@6400?

Offline ItzRaz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #6 on: 12:51 PM - 02/13/18 »
Isn't it best to stay under 50 XIM sensitivity?

Offline LilJs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #7 on: 02:06 PM - 02/13/18 »
Isn't it best to stay under 50 XIM sensitivity?
There a lots of "should do's" I'd also like to know.

Always better most DPI
Always better less HIP
HIP not over 50/100...

Which is these are actually accurate and true..?

Offline Od1n

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 26768
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #8 on: 02:14 PM - 02/13/18 »
Isn't it best to stay under 50 XIM sensitivity?
There a lots of "should do's" I'd also like to know.

Always better most DPI
Always better less HIP
HIP not over 50/100...

Which is these are actually accurate and true..?

all three of your points have one origin

the xim sensitivity you adjust to increase or decrease your mouse sensitivity is an interpolation value, the higher you set it the more likely your mouse movements will start to stutter and jitter
xim sensitivity below 50 means theres absolutly no way to feel it, between 50 and 100 you may feel it the closer you get to 100
above 100, say 300 and you have a pretty strong pixelmovement

now dpi helps you to reduce your xim sensitivity, the more dpi you use the lower you can set your xim sensitivity
with a dpi value of around 3000 your xim sensitivity should be below 50 in almost all games, if you are a high sensitivity gamer you might want to use 5000 or even 12000 dpi to reduce your xim sensitivity to eg 10 or 5

this is why more dpi is generally advertised when playing with a xim
if you were to use 800 dpi with your xim your xim sensitivty would need to be around 200-300 for an average mouse speed which is way too high

with xim apex this changes though as depending on the polling rate you use your xim sensitivity will automatically be higher or lower
PS4 & X1 | C: MS | XIM4 | FW: the latest ofc! :) | Mon: BenQ XL2420Z | Pad: Zowie G-SR | KB: Ducky DK1008L Cherry Red O-Rings| A: AKG K701 Creative X7 Antlion Modmic | M: Zowie EC1-A | D: 3200 | P: 1000hz | BF4 4 HIP: 35 ADS: 20

Check out my Youtube Channel: XIMGameplay
Du sprichst Deutsch? Hier gehts zum deutschen Forum

Offline LilJs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #9 on: 02:25 PM - 02/13/18 »
Isn't it best to stay under 50 XIM sensitivity?
There a lots of "should do's" I'd also like to know.

Always better most DPI
Always better less HIP
HIP not over 50/100...

Which is these are actually accurate and true..?

all three of your points have one origin

the xim sensitivity you adjust to increase or decrease your mouse sensitivity is an interpolation value, the higher you set it the more likely your mouse movements will start to stutter and jitter
xim sensitivity below 50 means theres absolutly no way to feel it, between 50 and 100 you may feel it the closer you get to 100
above 100, say 300 and you have a pretty strong pixelmovement

now dpi helps you to reduce your xim sensitivity, the more dpi you use the lower you can set your xim sensitivity
with a dpi value of around 3000 your xim sensitivity should be below 50 in almost all games, if you are a high sensitivity gamer you might want to use 5000 or even 12000 dpi to reduce your xim sensitivity to eg 10 or 5

this is why more dpi is generally advertised when playing with a xim
if you were to use 800 dpi with your xim your xim sensitivty would need to be around 200-300 for an average mouse speed which is way too high

with xim apex this changes though as depending on the polling rate you use your xim sensitivity will automatically be higher or lower
Okay, so this clearly tells me that I have to get down that 110HIP to something like 50's, which of the last two i mentioned would you pick?

Offline LilJs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #10 on: 02:36 PM - 02/13/18 »
snip
My bad that was another post.
This is what I meant:
I'd always set at maximum DPI to start -- especially with XIM APEX's new 1000Hz and Smoothing features.
What about XIM4?

same requirement, xim needs a lot of dpi unlike a pc where you are fine with 800 dpi
3000 dpi is the minimum you want, preferably more :)
So direct question straight up:
Should I stay at 110HIP@3200DPI
OR
55HIP@6400DPI
OR
MAX DPI
29.33HIP@12000DPI


Using this table
Code: [Select]
26.50 sens @ 3200 converted to 12000:
DPI: 12000 / 3200 = 3.75
Sensitivity: 26.50 / 3.75 = 7.06
= 7.06 sens @ 12000

Offline LilJs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #11 on: 03:47 PM - 02/13/18 »
I tried 6400 and 12000 and even if they look the same conversion it doesn't really feel like it.. I wouldn't ever go to 12000 the highest I could get used to is 6400 should I stay at 3200 or switch?

Online antithesis

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 4847
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #12 on: 04:05 PM - 02/13/18 »
If you're using 110 HIP on Xim4, you're likely experiencing problems and are unaware of it.

Bump your DPI to 6400, it's a safe number for both Xim4 and Apex. That'll halve your Xim4 numbers to pull HIP down to around 50, and allow you to run the same settings on Apex @ 1000Hz (once multiplied by 8 ) without hitting the sensitivity cap.

Offline ItzRaz

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 129
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #13 on: 08:24 PM - 02/13/18 »
So staying under 50 sens is best for XIM4, which runs at 125hz

But what about XIM APEX? It runs at 1000hz therefore we'd have to multiply our current XIM sens by 8.

So with the new 1000hz polling rate, is staying under 400 sens better (50 x 8 = 400) or 50 sens?

Offline LilJs

  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 80
    • View Profile
Re: Max dpi xim4/apex?
« Reply #14 on: 08:26 PM - 02/13/18 »
So staying under 50 sens is best for XIM4, which runs at 125hz

But what about XIM APEX? It runs at 1000hz therefore we'd have to multiply our current XIM sens by 8.

So with the new 1000hz polling rate, is staying under 400 sens better (50 x 8 = 400) or 50 sens?
In this case i'd def. go with 12k DPI, that's your best bet.