XIM Community

Game Keypad Concept  (Read 4378 times)

Offline killawink64

• MVP
    • View Profile
  • PSN ID: Fouldeth
Game Keypad Concept
« on: 01:53 PM - 09/27/15 »
I have been reading Tuff's and Yeeshdale's gamepad ideas. I am on a trip for work and am bored, so decided to come up with my version of a gamepad that has mechanical switches, analog stick, and can be used for ambidextrous players.

Fairly simple design: Top middle box contains teensy. A 5 colums x 4 rows setup. A detachable wrist pad. The analog stick+space bar is a detachable piece (wire runs off teensy underneath pad, this allows the user to use the same wire for either side. The "bumps" on the top sides will be used as numbers/function keys. I wanted the wire to come out of the top.

Of course this hasn't been put to scale, it's a rough draft.  I don't have access to 3d printer (maybe christmas).  I am also new to coding, so there may be multiple issues with this design. Any comments/criticism is appreciated.

Offline Od1n

• Global Moderator
  • MVP
    • View Profile
Re: Game Keypad Concept
« Reply #1 on: 02:23 PM - 09/27/15 »
i dont understand why most gamepads or gamepad concepts want to place the analogstick on the same level as the keyboard keys
thats extremly uncomfortable after a few minutes

its much better to place the analogstick 90 reversed to the keyboard keys, similar to how the n52te does it
this is not only more comfortable but also grants better precision as you dont need to stretch your thumb
the n52te still does it bad though as the analogstick isnt in line with the arm but has an angle to it forcing you to slightly stretch the thumb, itll be better if it was parallel to the arm and 90 to the keyboard keys

PS4 & X1 | C: MS | XIM4 | FW: the latest ofc! :) | Mon: BenQ XL2420Z | Pad: Zowie G-SR | KB: Ducky DK1008L Cherry Red O-Rings| A: AKG K701 Creative X7 Antlion Modmic | M: Zowie EC1-A | D: 3200 | P: 1000hz | BF4 4 HIP: 35 ADS: 20

Check out my Youtube Channel: XIMGameplay