XIM Community

Tut: Using vita stick in your mods  (Read 8687 times)

Offline W11cE

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1376
    • View Profile
Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« on: 08:13 PM - 03/04/14 »


Table of contents
1. Introduction
2. Required equipment
   2.1 Tools
   2.2 Components

3. Hardware part
   3.1 Wiring
   3.2 Cutting pcb smaller

4. Software part

_____________________________________________________________________________________

1. Introduction

BE CAREFUL WHEN DRILLING OR SOLDERING OR DOING OTHER THINGS. EVERYTHING YOU DO, YOU DO ON YOUR OWN RESPONSIBILITY. THAT INCLUDES EVERYTHING DETAILED IN THIS TUTORIAL AND USAGE OF THIS DEVICE.

ALSO DON'T READ THIS IF YOU ARE ALLERGIC TO COLOURFULL TEXT. YOU HAVE BEEN WARNED!


Vita stick is not easy to use in mods because its pcb is flexible and it is hard or impossible without necessary tools to solder to that. This little tutorial explains how to mod Vitas right button pcb to be able to connect the stick to your microcontroller.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

2. Required equipment

2.1 Tools

You will need these tools to do this mod:
 - Soldering iron (and other regular soldering stuff)
 - Some sharp small screwdriver suitable for removing green mask
 - Small drill with cutting tools
 - Or snips
 - Hot glue gun


2.2 Components

The components needed are:
 - Vita stick
 - Right side button replacement pcb for Vita
 - Wire
 - Hot glue

This is what the pcb looks like:

That red area is what we are focusing on.

_____________________________________________________________________________________

3. Hardware part

3.1 Wiring

This image shows the traces used. You can solder to any point in the trace.

First decide where you are going to solder. Then scratch green mask off from those spots. Add solder to those places to make sure you can actually use those spots.
NOTE: You have to connect those all 3 red traces to 3,3V!!!


3.2 Cutting pcb smaller

After that cut the pcb smaller. This is how i cutted mine and also the points i soldered wires.

GND = Ground
+ = 3,3V (Havent tested 5V, but i quess it would work too)
X = X axis wiper
Y = Y axis wiper

Solder all wires to the places you chose. Fix with hot glue. My adapter looks like this:

Now you can use it like any other joystick with your mods.
_____________________________________________________________________________________

4. Software part

For software there isnt anything special. Vita stick does not use full axes, so you need to scale those correctly. This is simple sketch you can use for scaling:

Code: [Select]
#define STICK_X 0
#define STICK_Y 1

#define OVERVAL 256
int Xstick;
int Ystick;



void setup() {
  pinMode(0, INPUT_PULLUP);
  pinMode(1, INPUT_PULLUP);
}

void loop() {
 
  Xstick = map(analogRead(STICK_X), OVERVAL, 1024-OVERVAL, 0, 1024);
  Xstick = constrain(Xstick, 0 , 1023);
  Joystick.X(Xstick);
  Ystick = map(analogRead(STICK_Y), OVERVAL, 1024-OVERVAL, 1024, 0);
  Ystick = constrain(Ystick, 0 , 1023);
  Joystick.Y(Ystick);

  Joystick.button(1, !digitalRead(0));
  Joystick.button(2, !digitalRead(1));
 
}

Increasing "OVERVAL" will make joystick movement are bigger. For vita i would recommend something between 250 and 300. Check how it looks in "joy.cpl".
_____________________________________________________________________________________

« Last Edit: 11:02 AM - 09/27/14 by W11cE »

Offline W11cE

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1376
    • View Profile
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #1 on: 08:15 PM - 03/04/14 »
reserved

Offline W11cE

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1376
    • View Profile
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #2 on: 08:16 PM - 03/04/14 »
Yeah... Did i get a little too excited with colors? Not sure if WD broke something inside my head...

Offline roads

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 19315
    • View Profile
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #3 on: 09:51 PM - 03/04/14 »
Thanks W11ce quality tutorial again. That is a Tyrannosaur there, right? So how is the stick? How exact is it? Does it keep the centering? Compared to the regular 10 K stick?
Have you opened the Stick? That plastic strip should insert somewhere?
« Last Edit: 09:57 PM - 03/04/14 by roads »
RookCheck: Relax, no one is attacking you personally.

Offline W11cE

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1376
    • View Profile
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #4 on: 10:05 PM - 03/04/14 »
That is blood dragon. The entire color theme is done according to that. LOL Stupid idea, but i though i could use unique color themes for every tutorial.
Cant really say that much about the stick. It centers ok, but would need to actually play with it to test how well it works.

I opened the stick. The sensors are on the plastic strip, so there is no way to replace that with wires.

Offline tuffrabit

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7354
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #5 on: 12:50 PM - 03/05/14 »
Sweet.  Now I can finish that Orb mod.  This is the only stick of any quality that will fit in an Orb.


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline tuffrabit

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7354
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #6 on: 03:20 PM - 03/08/14 »
Ok everybody.  Learn from me.  Don't use AWG22 solid core wire for this.  It's far to large/heavy.  It WILL rip the copper off the PCB.


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline W11cE

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1376
    • View Profile
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #7 on: 03:24 PM - 03/08/14 »
Yeah, thats quite thick. Whatever you use i recommend glueing those wires too. Even with thinner wires traces on pcb will come off easily.

Offline roads

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 19315
    • View Profile
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #8 on: 01:16 AM - 03/09/14 »
Cant you do a stick with your magnets? Just an idea. Maybe in a small screwtop.
RookCheck: Relax, no one is attacking you personally.

Offline W11cE

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1376
    • View Profile
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #9 on: 11:34 AM - 03/09/14 »
Yes, a magnet and 3 or 4 hall effect sensors would work for sensing, mut the mechanical side is harder. You cant make that small parts yourself.

Offline roads

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 19315
    • View Profile
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #10 on: 11:47 AM - 03/09/14 »
I know a precision mechanic he just needs a design.

Edit and $$$
RookCheck: Relax, no one is attacking you personally.

Offline toqy

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1291
  • (✌゚∀゚)☞ ( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
    • View Profile
Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #11 on: 01:24 PM - 03/09/14 »

Ok everybody.  Learn from me.  Don't use AWG22 solid core wire for this.  It's far to large/heavy.  It WILL rip the copper off the PCB.

I can give you eBay store with tiny wire if you need it
That "natural curve" you [roads] are talking about was me taking a wild guess what the game was doing (which was completely wrong of course).

😂😂😭

Offline tuffrabit

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7354
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #12 on: 02:01 PM - 03/09/14 »
I found some AWG30 in my attic.  Some old IDE ribbon cable.  A small mountain of it actually.


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline tuffrabit

  • Global Moderator
  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 7354
    • View Profile
    • tuffrabit's Twitch.tv channel
  • Gamertag: TuFFrabit
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #13 on: 07:42 PM - 03/14/14 »
YAY! I did it.   Now how the flip do I calibrate it for XIM?


XIM4 Anti Aim-assist curve: http://xim4.com/community/index.php?topic=31309.msg400143#msg400143
All you ever wanted to know about headsets and chat for the 360: http://www.xim3.com/community/index.php?topic=16461.0

Offline W11cE

  • MVP
  • *
  • Posts: 1376
    • View Profile
Re: Tut: Using vita stick in your mods
« Reply #14 on: 07:46 PM - 03/14/14 »
You can scale it with the code i provided. Or if you want it more accurate i can find the calibration code i made for PSP stick some time ago.