XIM Community

xim3 cad model images for att OBsiv and community  (Read 9005 times)

Offline xleejohnx

• View Profile
    Hi, firstly to introduce myself properly, my name is Lee, I am a mechanical Design Engineer, I use 3d cad software to create components that are firstly purposeful and aesthetically pleasing to the eye, I am delegated tasks that vary from research and development to creating Mold tools with the large company I work for. When I first received my xim3 I was very impressed by the materials used and the importance of the design, this body is a real piece of work and who ever modelled this should be really proud of them selves, when I seen the xim, i had to model it, but all i have done is modelled the out side as I dont want to break the xim, and from being in the UK, I wouldn't want to pay any import taxes.
    People sometimes say that the xim3 is a bit expensive, but they don't understand the amount of work and cost that a project costs just to get it even to the trialling stage.
    • Design cost
    • mold tool design cost(can vary between 500-1500)
    • Creation of the mold tool that makes the plastic parts, probably a two impression (two tools) 8000-15000 dependent if a hot runner system as been used to fill the die cavities.
    • assembly- employees wage
    These costs then have to be absorbed in to the product to become feasible and thats without the endless hours of code written for the xim3 to work.

These are just some of the hidden costs that are a necessity when creating parts, Obsiv you are an inspiration to any one that has thought of a personal project and wanted to take it to the next stage, I hope you look at what you have accomplished with pride and satisfaction.